Mouse going spastic. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2004, 02:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default Mouse going spastic.

I bought my computer a year ago and didn't like the wireless optical mouse that came with it so I plugged in my old trackball and have been using that instead. No problems for eleven months and now the mouse throws a fit every fifteen minutes or so. It flies all over the screen clicking all over the place. Sometimes I then can't click on any of the desktop icons.

AVG and AntiVir can't find any virus, also Spybot and Ad-adware cannot find any spyjunk.

Doing some googling I came across this:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;321122

I wasn't sure if having two mice installed would be the problem seeing as how they have gotten on together so well for so long, but I followed through the article as best I could and removed my wireless optical mouse. I can't physically unplug the mouse because I also have a wireless keyboard, and when I reboot Windows just reinstalls the mouse. Any ideas how I can avoid this?

I first noticed the problem when I was playing Doom 3. It was near the end of Doom 3 the second time around so I do not think Doom is to blame.

I tried to update my mouse drivers but I don't really know exactly what the mice are. Going thru device manager and clicking update driver does not find anything. The paper computer specs are no help, but according to windows they are: PS/2 Compatible Mouse and HID Compliant mouse. Also I can read off the s/n and some other junk for the (dell) wireless mouse:
s/n: LZC33705410
m/n: M-RAC67B
p/n: 851910-0000
DP/N: 0T0179
FCC ID: JNZ211651

And for the (Microsoft) 'Mouse Port Compatible Mouse 2.2A'
PN X04-72174
Product ID 52463-OEM-

I've tried to google drivers but without any luck. I usually end up looking at a page filled with dozens of mice which don't look exactly like mine but some look fairly similar....

If anyone can give me any suggestions I might try to solve my problem, I want to keep using my trackball, I'd be gratefull, thanks.

By the way, I'm using WinXP Home SP2.
__________________

Gummo.nz is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 05:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Make sure its plugged in all the way.Turn off the computer flip the mouse over and remove the trackball seat and ball.Clean the track rails.You`ll probably see some lint build up on both rails.
That may be the problem..
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for replying.

I unplugged the mouse and put it back in, making sure it's fitted in snuggly, but it is still doing it.

I always keep the inside clean, have to do that fairly regularly.
Gummo.nz is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

if theres no special functions, or extra buttons on your mouse that need to be enabled, u prolly dont need to download any drivers.

ps/2 mice, are connected with that round green cable thingy.

HID mice are connected via USB.

if u suspect is conflicting, just go to Device manager, on the top go to... /view/hidden divices/... then expand mouse tab, and disable HID, if your using PS/2, or vise versa.

if the original wireless mouse u had came with its own setup and driver disk, u might beable to find them in /controle panel/add remove progs... my usb mouse needed its own driver to enable extra buttons, and i can see it in 'add remove progs' , it shows up for me as 'Mouse suite'
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

wireless mice need a plug with a transmitter/reciever to work, have you unplugged this?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
wireless mice need a plug with a transmitter/reciever to work, have you unplugged this?
No I haven't because my wirless keyboard uses the same transmitter/reciever.


Quote:
if u suspect is conflicting, just go to Device manager, on the top go to... /view/hidden divices/... then expand mouse tab, and disable HID, if your using PS/2, or vise versa.
I've disabled the HID mouse but unfortunately it keeps doing it.

I do not have any mouse progs under add/remove progs.
Gummo.nz is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 09:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

oh ok, then take the batteries out of the wireless mouse
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 12:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Thumbs up

The batteries are out of the mouse, but I decided to un-install the ps/2 just to see if the problem persisted and it went away.

However as I can't stand the HID mouse, its scrolling is too inconsistent, I had to re-install it. The thing is...the problem has stayed away! It was doing it very regularly beforehand and now it's been fine for a couple of days.
__________________

Gummo.nz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.