MOBO capacitor broken - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2004, 07:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default MOBO capacitor broken

MY old case was quite small and when i put 3 drives in i didn't realize that the third one would hit a motherboard capacitor. A week ago i changed cases too a much bigger one and found the capacitor broken of the motherboard.

I run a A7n8x-x and the capacitor is the on on the most top right.

Should i bother soldering it back, or should i just leave as is. A similar thing happened with another computer i know about and it kept running fine. So my computer is still running fine how ever it starts freezing up when closing internet-explorer windows and so on to the point where task manager won't open up.

If i go on a soldering rampage do i have to be careful of heat dissipation and so on because of the microchips on the board?

suicidalmoose is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

solder it, wont effect microchips, and u might havent seen the process of base soldering in mobo factory, or you'll find it easy to do so.

Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

soldering iron doesnt displace enough heat into the air to do anything. Its just the tip that gets really hot and transfers it to the soldering metal so as long as you aren't striking the microchips you'll be fine. If you can manage soldering it back on there I'd do so, a broken capacitor doesn't sound good to me, wouldn't want to leave that off.
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 09:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 159

imo, it's no so difficult and quite easy to resoldering the new capasitor. my friend got his capasitor broken on his gigabyte motherboard then he resoldered it by himself, and then his pc went perfectly again.
AMD Athlon-C Thunderbird @ 1.2 GHz (FSB 133/266MHz)
MSI K7T Turbo Limited Edition (VIA KT133A Chipset)
Visipro 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
PixelView GeForce 2 MX400 Ultra 64MB SDRAM (Samsung 4.5 ns)
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Soundcard
Maxtor 40 GB ATA133 7200 RPM
Logitech Z-560 THX Certified Speakers
Samsung 753DF 17\" Flat CRT Monitor
Windows XP Pro SP1
WeHa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.