laptop came without 3.5 inch drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default laptop came without 3.5 inch drive

Hello
I got my first laptop and discovered it came without a 3.5 inch drive. i was wondering what happened if something happened to the OS and i would have to reinstall the Windows XP, with my desktop i sometimes need the 3.5 inch drive since i dont have a bootable windows xp. so i go through the six 3.5 inch disk procedure for windows xp to get it going, since i dont have the 3.5 nch drve, what are the otpins availabel to me, is there any way i can use the USB ports to do the same thing that i used to do with the 3.5 inch drive?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

get a proper copy of xp for one thing, as they are bootable.

You could burn xp onto a cd that is bootable, I have no idea how, apart from when you slipstream xp onto a disk than it can be a bootable one.


other than that, ask a friend to burrow his xp.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 05:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

what do you mean by
slipstream xp onto a disk
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 73
Default

You could buy an external fdd(floppy disc drive).You didnt mention the Manufacturer and model of your laptop.

The Early IBM laptops came with an external fdd may of those are still available on ebay pretty cheap.

My current IBM T22 has a swappable fdd inserted after you remove the DVD drive.

Maybe what you bought has one or the other
__________________
IBM T22 laptop,900mhz p3,20g hdd,512mb ram

IBM Netvista M42 40g hdd,1.8g p4,512mb ram

IBM Netvista 933 mhz p3,10g hdd,256 mb ram

Winbook laptop 400mhz p2

Dell 4600 2.8g cpu,120g hdd,256 mb ram(On bottom of list where pc of **** belongs)

768/128 DSL w/LAN(wireless G)
T22 4me is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 73
Default

Oh btw ;I bought an adapter that connects the ata Laptop hard drive to the Ide cables of your desktop.although I havent had time yet to try it.Im told this works though.....regards
__________________
IBM T22 laptop,900mhz p3,20g hdd,512mb ram

IBM Netvista M42 40g hdd,1.8g p4,512mb ram

IBM Netvista 933 mhz p3,10g hdd,256 mb ram

Winbook laptop 400mhz p2

Dell 4600 2.8g cpu,120g hdd,256 mb ram(On bottom of list where pc of **** belongs)

768/128 DSL w/LAN(wireless G)
T22 4me is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

it is a sony vaio
the new one
60 gig hard drive
512 MB RAM

pretty slick looking
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.