a huge problem really need help - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2004, 01:46 PM   #51 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

It's hard to tell with the lack of clarity in those pictures. But (IMO) from the discoloration, it looks like it has been subjected to too much heat stress.

Keep in mind that it is impossible for me to accurately diagnose the CPU through pictures.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 04:58 PM   #52 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 87
Default

I will just buy another processor and if it doesn't work I know someone getting a new computer soon that could use it.
__________________

Noxious is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:08 PM   #53 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Let me know how it goes!
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:10 PM   #54 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

And if you need anymore help, feel free to ask.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:14 PM   #55 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Will report back when it arrives. At least now there will be no pad melted all over this one to clean off.
Noxious is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:15 PM   #56 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Are you getting the same CPU?
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 08:16 AM   #57 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Yes, OEM from newegg.
Noxious is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 08:17 AM   #58 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Thanks for your help so far by the way.
Noxious is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 12:46 PM   #59 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Your welcome! I'm glad I could help.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 05:55 PM   #60 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

1. It's not a good idea to remove the processor unless your replacing or upgrading your computer.

2. With a problem like this the culprit probably would have been the video card.

Try reseating the video card and making sure that the power cord is connected to it (if it needs one), and that your monitor is connected to it.

PS I seriously doubt it was the processor anyways, but since you removed it check and make sure all the pins are intact etc.

EDIT: I'm sorry I didn't read most of the current posts, good luck with the new processor...
__________________

__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.