FSB and cache??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2004, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default FSB and cache???

Im trying to learn as much about computers as I can and I have been wondering this and I know that people on here know just about everything. So what does front side bus and cache actually do?

dbernie41 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

heh, flattery will get you nowhere on this board as most poeple can detect BS. this is my own explanation, not the technical explanation . front side bus (FSB) is bandwidth between to things. the bigger it is the more information that can be passed through it.

FSB is like a metal pipe and the information is like water. even though you have a really large FSB doesn't mean it is used to the full potential for example pentium4 C cannot utilize the full 800Mhz FSB

cache is integrated memory on a device. any device with cache like cd-rom, processor (has L1 and L2 cache, L1 being faster i think), and hard disk use this memory first as a buffer to speed up their processes by storing infomation in cache. cache is generally just a super fast storage and is usually faster than main memory (your RAM).

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148

But cache memory is very small compared with RAM (L1, L2 or even L3). Why does it not bigger, or that's enough?
Happy to help or to be helped :)
Traudong is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504

Because, cache memory is very expensive, which is why the p4 EE is around 900 dollars, because it has a huge 2mb of L3 cache memory. The memory does get a tad slower as you move down in levels which is why the size also generally gets bigger because you can afford more of the slightly slower stuff. Im sure if they wanted to they could make a processor with as much cache memory as they wanted, but the cpu would be really big and no one but bill gates would buy one.
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.