Best ram for 250 bucks? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 04:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Best ram for 250 bucks?

Whats the best ram i could buy for $250? I wanted 1gb and i wouldnt oc.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 05:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Get the cheapest ram you can get, as if you are not overclocking the timings don't really matter. Make sure you get the fastest your motherboard supports, e.g. for AMD 64 range PC3200.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 05:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

noo not the cheapest !! OH GOD ANYTHING BUT THE VALUE.. value is cursed i tell u !! ALL MY GAMES AND PROGRAM CRASH 24/7 cuhz of value ram =[ i reinstalled windows everything the works.. trust me dont ever buy PQI ram just buy like oc but stay away from value !! it left me of a curse to declocking my ram to pc2900 =[ just so it wouldnt crash anymore
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 09:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sheky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to sheky
Default

this was 55 yesterday but its 84 now. If you're not OC this is a great gig for the price.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
sheky is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by foreverxyoung
noo not the cheapest !! OH GOD ANYTHING BUT THE VALUE.. value is cursed i tell u !! ALL MY GAMES AND PROGRAM CRASH 24/7 cuhz of value ram =[ i reinstalled windows everything the works.. trust me dont ever buy PQI ram just buy like oc but stay away from value !! it left me of a curse to declocking my ram to pc2900 =[ just so it wouldnt crash anymore
Your fault for not RMA'img the ram

Anyways, the corsair is cheap and good.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 10:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by foreverxyoung
noo not the cheapest !! OH GOD ANYTHING BUT THE VALUE.. value is cursed i tell u !! ALL MY GAMES AND PROGRAM CRASH 24/7 cuhz of value ram =[ i reinstalled windows everything the works.. trust me dont ever buy PQI ram just buy like oc but stay away from value !! it left me of a curse to declocking my ram to pc2900 =[ just so it wouldnt crash anymore
Yeah dude, your fault. You didnt run memtest, you probably had hella errors on those sticks. You shouldnt have to underclock ANYTHIGN to get it to work properly. You just got some bad sticks

Anyway, likie everyone said, dont bother spending a full 250 if you are not going to OC. You can get away PERFECTLY with RAM that is cheaper than $100 for a gig. Corsair is alright, I'm not very fond of them. Kingston is great on stock settings. Non oced, they are killer. OCed, they blow. TWINmos also makes some good sticks, and you could never go wrong with OCZ, although they are a bit on the expensive side.
Him is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

well id oc its just idk how
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

RAM Ocing is NOT easy, it is definetely the most difficult aspect of overclocking. Since you dont know how, but are willing to spend the money on some good RAM, get the OCZ Platnium Rev 2's, they are some decent sticks. Or get some Mushkin Redline or Patriot LBA's.
Him is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

hahaha wow you guys are right! value ram sucks i got some my self, i use to think memory was memory im soon to get a 1 gig dual channel pc3200 corsair kit overclock it, to its peak and its lowest most stable timmings, because all the games now days are really demanding a gig especially battlefield 2
burned-ati is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

ValueRAM dosent suck, why does everyone say that? Granted, it sucks for OCing, but not everyone with a computer is going to OC it! ValueRAM is more than adequate for the normal user, and usually will be fine for the average gamer.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.