Another 32 vs 64 bit thread?? Please input. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 11:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Ok, but for the most part its safe to go 64?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Sure, its safe, just dont have any illusions about a magical speed boost from 64 bit cause the software just isnt there yet, most of it is still 32 bit.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
AMD Athlon 64 and Intel 6XX seires, native 64 bit
I thought the Intels only emulated 64 bit?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

If you have starcraft your going to have problems since parts of it are 16bit and X64 OS wont support 16bit at all. And they are still beta testing X64... There hasn't been a final version released yet or it would have been shown on my home page.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Windows x64 was released officially about a month ago, beta testing has long since finished.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/64bit/default.mspx
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

It's retarded why they don't just include a 16-bit subsystem into Windows 64. Even if there is a performance hit for whatever reason, surely, they can give the option to the user to enable it??.. :-\
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

It would be nice, but if battle.net and blizzard plan on keeping starcraft around much longer there going to need to remake it or make a huge *** patch to rewrite the code of the game....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:59 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I wanna know how much they want to charge me now, because to get it i have to "exchange" my XP pro copy for that damned thing..... Then they ask for a credit card number and at the bottom saying we will charge you once your item has been shipped.

EDIT:

Found a copy on newegg, but based on reviews ill wait about 2 years before i upgrade....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837102034
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.