2 newbie questions about computer hardware - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2005, 07:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Don't worry Grim... thinking does get easier as you get more practice at it... LOL

No sweat. Sometimes I try to be too basic and confuse the matter.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
AGP is being phased out,
PCI-E holds a real small portion of the market right now. AGP is by far the more popular way still. It will take atleast 2 years before you start seeing AGP really being phased out, so there really is no need for him to go PCI-E quite yet.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well what is the difference between AGP and PCI-E as in Pros and cons? Thanks trotter that increased my confidence
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
It will take atleast 2 years before you start seeing AGP really being phased out,
You are right on that, Nubius.

Quote:
Thanks trotter that increased my confidence
What? Can't amigos rag each other? At least you saw what everyone was talking about. I usually blather on blind to the obvious...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 08:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
well what is the difference between AGP and PCI-E as in Pros and cons? Thanks trotter that increased my confidence
Basically PCI-E is cheaper and has more bandwidth than AGP.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 09:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
well what is the difference between AGP and PCI-E as in Pros and cons?
Not a lot except for what gaara said. PCI-E is cheaper in most cases than not. Also people will like to tag on 'its futureproof' but, by the time AGP is 'phased out' you will be upgrading regardless. It has room for more bandwidth but currently there isn't a card on the market that actually utilizes all that extra PCI-E bandwidth and is basically no better than AGP
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

whoa, thanks for all of the replies!

how much more is a socket 939 than a 754? and as for the 120 gig HD, i'm on an 80 gig right now, and i'm fine, i wont be putting anything cept maybe 2 or 3 games.

i'd like pci-e, but its more $$,

edit; oh yes, so would i need a heatsink if i get the retail box of the CPU
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

A heatsink basically conducts heat amazingly well. it takes all the heat from the tiny processor and absorbs it into the heatsink. The heatsink had a huge surface area because of all the fins, so the heat has much more area to dissapate into the surrounding air than if it was just the processor. The fan helps to keep the warm air that is around the heatsink flowing so more heat can can get out.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 04:05 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

retail comes with a heatsink, but they are not very good. If you are overclocking get a after market one.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:24 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

oh i wont be overclocking

EDIT: well, looking up at sport's specs, and him OC'ing from 3200 to 3500+.. i might i'd like to OC up to the point where i wont need a water cooling, i dont want to get into that mess

dumb question, but OC'ing is legal right
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.