Windows Upgrade causing Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2013, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Windows Upgrade causing Issues

Hey guys,

I decided to upgrade my windows 7 home premium to windows 7 pro, and now all the processes are running slowly. Downloads are starting and making some progress, but then stopping completely and being unresponsive. Startup is considerably slower. I can't even ctrl-alt-delete sometimes, it gives me an error and I have not the slightest idea why.

I have an i7 2600, Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 - 1GB - Single Card, 32 GB [8GB x 4 gskill ripjaw]

I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions or perhaps has dealt with this issue when upgrading in the past.

edit: I also forgot to mention that applications aren't closing, just freezing and not responding when attempting to close. also occasionally internet pages will cease to load though I am still connected
__________________

john00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Windows Upgrade causing Issues

Can you use the disk for a clean install? If so you may want to backup and do that. As for why this happened. I'm not really sure. Maybe someone else has some better ideas. Have You could check event viewer in admin tools to see if there are any tips. You can also check your performance monitor while your in there.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: Windows Upgrade causing Issues

I have to be honest I don't know why Microsoft still have upgrade options, as in my experience they tend to cause problems a lot of the time.
I would do as advised above, don't upgrade, just back up your files and do a fresh install.
Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.