Problem, help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2005, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default Problem, help

Since no one responded to my other thread, I will post a new one with more appropriate information.

Problem : My computer will lock up whenever I go into a game and try to play, two examples so far : Counter strike and Battlefield 2.

Now this is what I find odd, Since I didn't exactly build my computer, I picked out the parts and had a tech in the city build it, anyways here are some wierd things I found.

1) I have dual channel ddr400 ram, but in the boot up, black screen with white text, it says single channel and ddr333, I don't get it.

2) When I go into BIOS and look at my CPU clocks etc, at the bottom are a few things about memory voltage, and it's flashing red and states " dangerous, could cause system failure" The thing I dont understand if this means that my system is already messed up, or if I acess that it will be messed up. The voltage is at 2.7 V on my RAM.

Here are my specs:

MSI K8N Neo 4
2 X 512 MB corsair value ram
MSI 6600GT
Seagate 120 Gig SATA
AMD athelon 64 3200+
450 W Raidmax PSU, came with case. ( I know it's not the best but I couldn't get my parents to squeeze out any extra money for a better one, and I was already out of money paying for most of the computer)

Help would be great, if I don't get it by tommorrow at noon, I will be calling the guy who build it, but I really don't want to go through the hassle if you guys can help me sooner.


Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

Do you have the latest video card drivers?

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave

Yes, forceware 81.98.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 08:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182

Check all your system voltages. The 2.7volt reading seems too low, plus you are getting a 'Warning' alert' about your memory voltage.
I would also verify your RAM memory cards are seated correctly.
With power 'OFF' take both out...... then put one(1) in at a time and then check your sys. voltages again.
If its not the memory cards/connector, I would say you have a
'Weak Power Supply".

Use PC Alert to monitor your sys. voltages......if its running.
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.