PC boot issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2006, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default PC boot issues

I have a Dell Dimension 8200 PC that has been in storage for 2 years. I took it out to get some information off it and discovered it wouldn't boot.

I replaced the CMOS battery, turned the power on from the wall and the PC then booted normally. I shutdown and tried to start it again, but nothing.

So I again turned the power off from the wall, reseated the battery, and again it starts normally. Resetting the power from the wall without reseating the battery does not help.

So the only way i can get my PC to start now is by reseating the CMOS battery before each boot

I checked the battery connections and even gave them a clean (although they looked fine)
Also tried resetting the cmos jumper and gave it a clean (although it also looked fine) but the problem still persists.

Can anyone help?
__________________

czabbal is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Battery may be empty. I had similar problems with an empty battery.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default

thanks for the reply but i replaced the CMOS battery with a brand new battery. Before replacing it, the desktop would not boot at all.
czabbal is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Better check if it is not empty.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default

how would i do that?
czabbal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.