PC audio to Home Theater Amp BUZZ *plz read*

Status
Not open for further replies.

JeffWilkie90

Beta member
Hi everyone thanks for taking a few minutes to read about my ongoing issue.

I am NOT a newbie to Audio and how to troubleshoot problems, just to get that out of the way early :) That explains why I am asking for help, because I am stumped.

I am simply trying to play my Computer audio through the Home stereo amp.

( PC Gateway GX7018E computer running XP to my Denon Amp, Klipsch speakers)

I am getting a buzz through my speakers the very second I attach the 1/8 stereo cable to my computer. Its much like when you slightly pull out a guitar cable out of the guitar while the amp is still on, or when you slightly pull out any live cable for that matter out of an Audio System.

I have tried 4-5 different ways to eliminate this Buzzing sound.

First I plugged into multiple outputs 1/8th stereo of my intergrated sound card going into the amp and it buzzed the same.

Today I bought a new PCI soundcard to get away from possibly having noisy onboard audio. There was no change.

I thought ok, maybe the soundcard? So I bipassed it by installing my USB Audio Interface AND it has a Ground lift knowing the 60 cycle hum has to do with Ground issues or a ground loop. So USB into the interface then out of it into the amp using seperate RCA's, I tried 2 different inputs of the amp..Still buzzed even with the ground lifted on the Interface.

I took my GF's laptop on battery power and plugged the 1/8 stereo into it and into the amp...Silent! I thought hmm, maybe its the outlet? So I plugged her laptop into where I plug my PC into and it was still silent..no buzzing at all.

I even bought an Outlet tester to make sure its wired properly ( no grounding issues)..and it is wired correctly.

I thought maybe it could be my Amp for some reason, so I tested the computer, with the 1/8th stereo cable on an upstairs separate Amp and there was no change. Still a large buzz.