New CPU/MOBO installation. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2007, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default New CPU/MOBO installation.

Just installed a new ECS KN1 Lite board Socket 939 Amd 64 with a Amd 64 3500+, ati x1300, 756mb Ram, and 60gig master/120gig slave, CD-RW, DVD

Upon startup cannot get an Ubuntu or Window os cd's to start up. They can't get to the format part.

There is already a windows installation on the hd, but it wont start up.. I get a blue screen.

When in Bios the DVD drive is not detecded and the ram is only detected at 512. ( this is not a big issue as i can reread the manual and figure out my memory setup and drive setup )

The big problem is I can't get into the old windows or wipe it with a new cd. What do I do?
__________________

duckey is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

ok, so there are two parts of the install, the text part and the GUI part. The text part is just that and the gui is when it switches to windows or the graphical user interface. So the question is, how far will the windows instal go, does the cd boot, does xp start to load drivers ? Is your copy of xp 32bit , 64 bit , retail, oem , burnt copy ? You may want to try and clear your bios, make sure BOTH your mainboard power plugs are plugged in if the mainboard uses 2.
do all your dvd / cd and hd's detect in the bios ?
if you are getting a blue screen from trying to boot an install of xp from another pc that is normal , each pc has it's own HAL.
IS THIS XP OR VISTA ? make sure your pc is unplugged when you clear the cmos.
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 11:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

You can also boot with a windows 98 boot disk or a Dos disk.
boot with this disk and at the a: type format c: if your drive c:
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

the existing windows launch goes to blue screen right after logo is displayed.

linux ( ubuntu ) freezes during text install.

windows xp 32bit retail wont make it far into text install.

everything is recognised in bios cept the dvd drive and a stick of ram.. the ram i can fix and possibly the dvd drive.
duckey is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 111
Default

i got it.... had to reformat the harddrive via old computer, then install new windows.

^^
duckey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.