Identifying RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2013, 07:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Default Identifying RAM

Hi

I have recently bought a Vaio desktop (VPCL13S1E) which was faulty. I was told it had 8gb ram installed so the first thing I did when receiving was to check the RAM. I was unable to check on the screen so I have taken out the RAM sticks and they each say 2GB 2Rx8 PC2. Am I being stupid or does that mean there is 4GB installed not 8? Or is there 2GB on each side of the stick? It has 8 small black chips on each side.

Thanks for your help!
__________________

-SeanS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Identifying RAM

Any website that I look up on says that that pc has 4 dimm slots.
2GBx4=8GB.
Can you confirm that the pc has 4 slots?
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default

It looks like the memory stick you have is a single stick of 2GB, if it is the only one in the computer them you only have 2GB, if you have more than one just add then together
Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Default Re: Identifying RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
Any website that I look up on says that that pc has 4 dimm slots.
2GBx4=8GB.
Can you confirm that the pc has 4 slots?
That is what was confusing me, it definitely only has two slots, and the specs says it can support upto 12gb ram so unless you can get a 6gb stick which I know you can't, I don't get it?
-SeanS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Identifying RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by -SeanS View Post
That is what was confusing me, it definitely only has two slots, and the specs says it can support upto 12gb ram so unless you can get a 6gb stick which I know you can't, I don't get it?
Apparently it has 4GB embedded in the motherboard, and only allows you to configure the two FREE dimm slots.

So upgrading the 2x2GB to 2x4GB sticks would bring you to 12GB.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Default Re: Identifying RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
Apparently it has 4GB embedded in the motherboard, and only allows you to configure the two FREE dimm slots.

So upgrading the 2x2GB to 2x4GB sticks would bring you to 12GB.
That would explain it, thanks for your help! Can you tell me where you found that info as I was googling for ages and couldnt find anything.

Thanks
-SeanS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 01:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Identifying RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by -SeanS View Post
That would explain it, thanks for your help! Can you tell me where you found that info as I was googling for ages and couldnt find anything.

Thanks
Well, I saw in a google search earlier today, but now I can't find it again .
But, I got conflicting tech specs from a couple different websites that specify how many slots it has.

This says there are 3 dimm slots...
Computer memory upgrades for Sony VAIO VPCL13S1E/S Desktop/PC from Crucial.com

This says there are 2 dimm slots...
Sony VAIO L13 specs | PC Pro

Plus, it wouldn't be the first I've heard of a pc where some of the memory you can't mess with (or at least make difficult enough for the average consumer to not want to access) it.
My Dell laptop has one dimm free where the hard drive is on the underside, but the other dimm slot is hidden underneath the keyboard.

Run this lightweight program, and see how much RAM you have installed. (Lightweight=you don't have to install it)
http://www.alexnolan.net/software/SysSpec.exe
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Default Re: Identifying RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
Well, I saw in a google search earlier today, but now I can't find it again .
But, I got conflicting tech specs from a couple different websites that specify how many slots it has.

This says there are 3 dimm slots...
Computer memory upgrades for Sony VAIO VPCL13S1E/S Desktop/PC from Crucial.com

This says there are 2 dimm slots...
Sony VAIO L13 specs | PC Pro

Plus, it wouldn't be the first I've heard of a pc where some of the memory you can't mess with (or at least make difficult enough for the average consumer to not want to access) it.
My Dell laptop has one dimm free where the hard drive is on the underside, but the other dimm slot is hidden underneath the keyboard.

Run this lightweight program, and see how much RAM you have installed. (Lightweight=you don't have to install it)
http://www.alexnolan.net/software/SysSpec.exe
Thanks for the help, it turns out there are two extra dimm slots with 2x2GB sticks on the underside of the motherboard which I realised after taking it out. I can't check anything software wise as I think the motherboard is dead. I bought the PC for parts as the owner had taken it to a technician who attempted to solder a new north bridge unsuccessfully. Whilst I had the board out though I tried a few DIY reflows in the oven which didn't work, I'm contemplating buying another MB as I have seen one on ebay for 250 delivered but not sure if it is worth the risk of it not working. What do you guys think? Sell for parts or fix it?

Thanks
-SeanS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Identifying RAM

I'd scrap it. $250 for parts and then at the end of the day, you still have an old computer.
That money could go towards a pc with a newer, more modern intel core i-series processor and DDR3 memory.
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.