Help with new build!!! Urgent! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2007, 11:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default

I'll try that. just out of curiousity though, my mobo doesnt have integrated Video, so if I uninstall my video card, Iwont be able to see anything...So what should I do about that?
__________________

__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 139
Default

Reinstall your video card in the black slot and reboot your PC and see if you get a POST beep or it boots up fine with no errors on the monitor, you know what I mean?
__________________

__________________
\"You just don\'t live life. You change it. You shape it. You make a mark upon it...\"
COCOCOOKIE is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 12:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default

Hehe, actually...I have no idea what that means...Im a newbie
__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 12:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 139
Default

Okay, open the case of your PC and uninstall the video card from the blue slot and try the other one (the black one) and boot up the PC and see if your monitor gets video. If it doesn't, pay attention to a series of beep sounds (write down how many of them and wether they're long or short beeps, like "2 long-1 short-1 long...") because that is the "Power-On Self Test or POST". It's the PC checking if the basic hardware is working properly (like RAM,VIDEO,etc.) If you get beeps or a "on screen error", write it down and post back,ok? Also, go to your BIOS (press F2,F11,F10 or F12 when bootin up) and write down the version and manufacturer of your BIOS (Award, Phoenix,etc.) Before I forget: Did you install de video card drivers BEFORE installing the card? Most cards require you to do it in that order, device drivers first and then the card. Post back,ok?
__________________
\"You just don\'t live life. You change it. You shape it. You make a mark upon it...\"
COCOCOOKIE is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 02:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default

Hey, I may* have figured it out. I was looking through my BIOS, and saw something. Maybe you guys could tell me if this could explain the problem, and if what I did is the right thing to do. Under PCIPnP, the primary display adapter was set to PCI, but I changed this to PCIe, because my video card is in a PCIe slot...Any input? I guess I'll find out tomorrow if this helped or hurt. Thanks for all your input, guys!
__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 139
Default

Hi! That was what I told you to check in your BIOS remember? Let us know if that solved the issue, otherwise we can still try a few more things. Remember: Always start with the basics, no matter how stupid or obvious it seems. Post back,ok? Good Luck!
__________________
\"You just don\'t live life. You change it. You shape it. You make a mark upon it...\"
COCOCOOKIE is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 03:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default

Ohhh, looking back, that's exactly what you told me. However, it didn't solve it....When I woke up this morning, same problem was back again. I do, however, have a theory. Okay, it seems as if the motherboard needs to warm up or something before it'll really start firing on all cylinders. Because if I just leave it for a little while, and then press the reset button it will work. Does that help at all with the diagnosis?
__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 04:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 139
Default

Hi. Okay, let me ask you this: Why do you need to press the reset button for? To get video signal on your monitor? One basic thing: Motherboards don't need to warm up or anything like that sort. When you press the power button in the front of the computer it starts the POST and after that the boot process in which the PC loads drivers and the Operating System (I'm trying to be brief) Also, did you try switching the video card to the other slot? Did you hear any beeps when you turn on your PC? Do you still get the "No Signal Found" message? Post back,ok?
__________________
\"You just don\'t live life. You change it. You shape it. You make a mark upon it...\"
COCOCOOKIE is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 05:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default

I switched the video card to the black slot to no avail. I don't remember hearing any beeps. It only happens when the computer's been completely off though...I'll try reading through all the stuff you said and see if I missed anything. By the way, Inoticed you're from Chicago. I'm also from Chicago. What part you from?
__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 05:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default

I just read on Newegg under the comments for this board, that it takes someone else "4-5 pushes of the reset button for this board to POST." But he said he's not sure why that is.....Does this help?
__________________

__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.