Computer Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2014, 12:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: US
Posts: 28
Default Computer Problem

So last night i was on my computer and it without warning just shutoff, so when i turned it back on, it did the same thing. So today while im on the computer it will just randomly freeze, and it will be like that for about 5 to 10 minutes. so i wanted to know what that was.
__________________

Rocketman2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Computer Problem

Post specs please.

Are you doing anything in particular when it freezes?

Have you checked your CPU/GPU temps?

Are you able to go into Safe Mode or Safe Mode with Networking without it freezing, or does it freeze there too?

Is there any HDD activity (does the HDD light flicker or stay lit) when it freezes?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: US
Posts: 28
Default Re: Computer Problem

I dont exactly know what the specs to my laptop are, and i was just watching a video for school. i havent tried Safe mode yet either. i dont exactly know how to check the temps either. also i dont know where the HDD light is either.

Side Note,
It froze while i was typing this
Rocketman2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Computer Problem

Since it's a laptop, just post the brand/model number.

Check your temps using HWMonitor, from here: HWMonitor CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

The HDD light should be somewhere either on the front (toward you) of the palmrest, or above the keyboard on the palm rest. That's where they usually are on laptops, anyway.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: US
Posts: 28
Default Re: Computer Problem

My laptop is an Acer Aspire 5349. also i found what processor it has would it help if you had that.

P.S.
it hasn't froze since i posted that last message.
Rocketman2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Computer Problem

Well, lets try a few things.

Firstly let's update your drivers. To get the right drivers for your hardware, since there's some different hardware configs for that machine... please do the this for the following devices:
Audio
Wireless card (WLAN)
Ethernet adapter (LAN)

For your GPU and Chipset (maybe WLAN if it's an Intel card) drivers, you can go here and let Intel's tool scan your system for updated drivers by clicking the "Update Drivers" button under the Intel Driver Utility section:
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/default.aspx

Open up Device Manager
On everything that has a yellow exclamation mark, do the following:
Right click -> Properties -> Details tab
Post the following info for each item that has a yellow exclamation mark:
Under "Hardware Ids" in the dropdown, it should have something like VEN_####&DEV#### ; post that section, where #### = some alphanumeric combination.


Secondly, run a disk check to see if it's an issue with your HDD:

Start -> type 'cmd' (without quotes) -> right click -> run as admin -> in the console window that pops up type:
chkdsk C: /f /r
Press Enter and it will say it cannot lock the current drive and to run on next reboot. Type Y and hit Enter -> Reboot your computer and let it run through the check (it may take some time, depending on how big your HDD is).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 07:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: US
Posts: 28
Default Re: Computer Problem

Hey carnage can you tell me why it just shut off without warning.
Rocketman2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 08:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Computer Problem

Well what were you doing at the time it shut off?

Did you get through any of the instructions from my previous post?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 07:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: US
Posts: 28
Default Re: Computer Problem

from what i can remember i was just scrolling through facebook when it shutoff the second and third time. The first it shutoff i was playing a game. And yes i did go through your above steps. I hope i can figure this out cause i cant afford another computer.
Rocketman2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 07:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: US
Posts: 28
Default Re: Computer Problem

I just looked for HDD light you were talking about. And i cant seem to find one. So i dont think my computer has one.
__________________

Rocketman2798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My computer Problem or HDD Problem cichlidkeeper91 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 02-03-2009 12:24 PM
Really crazy computer problem - computer thinks I have no Network or Graphics Cards Renih Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-27-2006 01:59 PM
problem, problem, problem anzuanzy Overclocking and Modding 1 10-10-2006 01:32 PM
Problem after problem after problem! coolboy696 Microsoft Windows and Software 37 04-22-2004 08:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.