2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

hey, so yeah the deal is i made a partition for 5gb for windows, and a 110 gb partition for all my other stuff. well i want to just make everything easier and make it one whole drive, so can i do that? i don't have anything on the 110gb drive and don't want to go through a fresh install of windows.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

XP or Vista? not that it matters since GParted will easily do the work there since you can't resize the primary partition while running the OS that is installed on it. With nothing on the second 110gb partition that will make things even easier since you won't have to shrink that first to increase the size of the primary in order to move files over from it.

With nothing on the second one there you can simply delete it entirely. But before expanding the small primary where Windows is installed you will want to back anything importent up and then decide on the partitioning tool you will use.

The Linux drive tool namely the Gnome Partition Editor(GParted) has a few live for cd releases that are able to work with MS, Apple, Solaris types of partitions as well as Linux VFat. If you have a cd or dvd burner and a blank cd-r all it will take is to follow simple instructions.

First is the actual documentation with screen shots for the free Linux tool seen at GPARTED DOCUMENTATION - GENERALITIES

The last "platform independent" rlease the 0.3.3.0 exactly the way you see it here is the correct one to use on the bootable cd-r you will need to create for this. SourceForge.net: Files

The free version of BurnOn has proven itself repeatedly to be the reliable program for burning the 35mb iso disk inage onto a blank cd-r. Once burned to disk and you boot from it you can reach the main gui simply by pressing the enter at each of the initial prompts to see it fully load up.

The defaults work so ignore the 24/32bit choices since Linux is 24bit there. The default resolution of 1024x768 is where to leave that unless you have a 20-24" lcd you are working with to keep everything visible onscreen. Once you answer yes to the confirmation prompt you will see what looks a small box with a scrolling tab appear while the changes are being made.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

Its definately not vista if the partition is only 5gb. But as far as i know i dont think you can do it without 3rd party software. On the same note, where in vista do i have it scan for my unformatted drives.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

Vista only uses about 2gb for files and by default about 2gb for the paging file where it would fit on a 5gb primary. You just couldn't plan on putting anything else on there along with it.

Simply booting up with the XP or Vista disk allows for deletion or creation of partitions iwth the drive tools there. Now Vista sees the ability to format and resize partitions that required a 3rd party tool for XP. It's unfortunate that only a few of the live for cd versions of GParted are platform independent while you can see a full page of the non live versions that are at SourceForge.net: Files

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to veri745
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

I've found that PartitionMagic works pretty well for me, and works either within Windows or froma boot disk, although it's not free. You can do the same thing eyeCpc suggested and shrink your large partition, expand the windows partition, move the files, and then delete the extra partition.
veri745 is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

He fixed his problem already. He told me on AIM.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

Was that with GParted or did he wipe the drive completely to start fresh?
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

He started fresh.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

Gparted sounds like a dead rapper.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: 2 partitions, want to make drive 1 partition

Though I am late I do have one suggestion for future. Partition magic, no, Other partition tools, no

---- > Norton Ghost 2003 or Norton Ghost 11 (DOS versions only).
__________________

DJUDX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Vista Hard Drive Partition Problems falchion Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-21-2007 01:06 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Hard drive partitions... NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-30-2007 04:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.