Urgent Help Needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2013, 09:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 55
Default Urgent Help Needed

So i just got my new build up, put everything in the case and wired it up.
Now when i insert the CD, it goes to the screen where it says "Press Enter To Continue" "Press R To Restore" etc but the keyboard doesn't work on that screen.
The keyboard and Mouse are Wireless and i'm connecting them to the back ports.
Also, can the windows be installed from an USB? I tried but it doesn't seem to work.
The ISO images are bootable and have Windows 7 Ultimate x64 in it.
When i put the GPU in, the monitor doesn't seem to get signal even though i put the adapter.
Would a 32-bit windows work in my new PC with ASRock Z77 Pro3 and 3570 @ 3.4GHz?
It's kinda urgent since this PC is almost to die.
__________________

CrazyBoy494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 09:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyBoy494 View Post
So i just got my new build up, put everything in the case and wired it up.
  1. Now when i insert the CD, it goes to the screen where it says "Press Enter To Continue" "Press R To Restore" etc but the keyboard doesn't work on that screen.
  2. The keyboard and Mouse are Wireless and i'm connecting them to the back ports.
  3. Also, can the windows be installed from an USB? I tried but it doesn't seem to work.
  4. The ISO images are bootable and have Windows 7 Ultimate x64 in it.
  5. When i put the GPU in, the monitor doesn't seem to get signal even though i put the adapter.
  6. Would a 32-bit windows work in my new PC with ASRock Z77 Pro3 and 3570 @ 3.4GHz?
  7. It's kinda urgent since this PC is almost to die.
1: What? If you are inserting a Windows 7 DVD and are booting to it, you will come across the first screen that says install, then the second screen asks for "Upgrade" or "custom". Click on custom, and the next screen will show a list with your HDD. Click on it, and make a new partition with the button below the list and click next. It will ask to make a system partition, click yes/ok.

2: You will need to use a wired keyboard or mouse to do a fresh install.

3: Yes it can. You need to make a bootable flash drive from within Windows using the Microsoft to USB tool.

4:This only makes half sense, but you need to go into the bios with the onboard ports and set it to PCI-E graphics or "PEG" adapter. Which ever your bios has.

5: Yes it would work, but if you have 4 or more GB of RAM it wont utilize all of your RAM.

6:......why is your PC about to die?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 55
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

Because since i'm an idiot i've been messing up with it, now the fans are pretty much working everytime at a high speed, the videocard randomly stops working, the PC shuts itself when it wants.
Oh and i'm using a XP CD since that's one i found.
Edit : It works perfectly now, thank you so much.
One thing though : When i use the GPU adapter and connect to monitor, it doesn't show anything, while on Onboard it works perfectly fine, any idea?
CrazyBoy494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

Sounds like you have been messing around in the bios where you shouldn't have been. I suggest resetting the bios back to default for your fans to be set back to auto, and you will need to go and set the default video device to PCI-E like I said.

I would not use Windows XP on that machine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 55
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

I changed it to Windows 7, XP is not my favourite either.
When i change the default video device to PCI-E and connect the cables through the adapter on GPU, the monitor doesn't show anything, that's the bad thing, everything else is awesomely fine.
CrazyBoy494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

Test the GPU in another machine to make sure it works. If it does, then make sure the power cables are plugged in properly, and that it is seated in the slot correctly.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 55
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

I don't have another machine besides my old one but it doesn't have PCI-E slot
CrazyBoy494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

You don't have a friends computer you can test it in? Another family members computer with a PCI-E slot? Explore all options before wasting money on an RMA because if they send it back saying it's fine you're out some money and time.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 02:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 55
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

Okay so it seems it worked on another PC, without giving problems but i retried with my own PC now and it isn't working but it's recognized by the motherboard, the fans themselves are working, so i guess something else is wrong? What could it be?
CrazyBoy494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 04:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Urgent Help Needed

Your adapter, or the power cables aren't plugged in properly.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.