Upgrading ram, need help/opinion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2009, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 37
Default Upgrading ram, need help/opinion

Hello all, i'm looking to finally upgrade the RAM in my gaming rig which is fairly out of date.

Currently i'm using 2 slots out of the 4 on my motherboard and each have a 1gig stick. Here's my dilemma though.. on newegg the motherboard (link) claims to hold 8gigs of memory maxed. However when i run sisoft sandra it tells me this:



4gigs? this might be because i'm running windows xp 32bit? when i get this RAM i'm going to upgrade to windows 7 64 bit.

also what i'm just wanting an opinion on, as far as buying this ram goes, is should i go with 2x2g sticks bringing me up to 6 gigs? i've heard that if you use all of your ram slots it can lead to problems..

lotta questions here but i hope this makes sense to somebody!

thanks in advance!
__________________

blackhydra866 is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Upgrading ram, need help/opinion

I would check Gigabyte's website and see if it shows anything for how much RAM it supports.

As far as using all the memory slots, it can cause problems but it's pretty unlikely (unless you are heavily overclocking, then you might have some issues). I use all my RAM slots along with a pretty decent overclock, and haven't had any problems.

Someone may correct me if I'm wrong about that though :P
__________________

__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Upgrading ram, need help/opinion

I don't overclock anything so it shouldn't be a problem i'll take a look at gigabyte's site later though.
blackhydra866 is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading ram, need help/opinion

Your using 2 x 1GB so in order to continue using your memory in dual-channel mode you can only add 2 more 1GB sticks. So that's why sandra is saying 4GB, it's just working with what you have already.

If you buy 4 sticks of 2GB memory you'll be okay. Here's the Memory Support list for your mobo
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/...-ep35-ds3l.pdf

The best thing you can do is to buy a 2x2GB set and sell your present memory, or buy another set of 2x1GB and use your old memory. But don't buy a 2x2GB set and use your 2x1GB set as it will disable dual-channel mode.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Upgrading ram, need help/opinion

Thank you very much for the help! I'll replace it with 2x2gb and stick my current ram into my computer I built from school last year as it only has 512mb of ram
blackhydra866 is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: Upgrading ram, need help/opinion

Oh one more thing this RAM would be compatible with my board right? Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Desktop Memory
blackhydra866 is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading ram, need help/opinion

That kit should work fine. I'm more prone to buy OCZ myself. These are only 2 or 3 dollars more and they have better timings. Just a suggestion. Newegg.com - OCZ 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2P8004GK - Desktop Memory

These have even better timings but I've never tried PNY memory before.
Newegg.com - PNY XLR8 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model MD4096KD2-800-X4 - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my Ram JeffK91 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-04-2009 08:30 AM
Added RAM, no performance increase? drewjustforyou System Upgrades 2 03-21-2009 08:06 PM
Upgrading my RAM DubDub System Upgrades 5 02-14-2009 09:13 AM
upgrading 750i ftw ram Demalii New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-10-2008 05:51 PM
Upgrading RAM help!!! dingledow New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-08-2007 07:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.