Upgrading, DX10? Core 2? Vista? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2006, 10:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

No way an X800 Pro runs Oblivion on its highest settings. I can't even get close to highest on my 7800GT.

Get the G80, which is comming next month if you want to play Crysis. Doing it with today's cards would require SLI and it doesn't sound like you want to go that route.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 10:08 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Crysis needs at least a 6800 GT just to run. they recommend a 7800/7900 series card (preferrably a 24 pipeline one)

my video card should be good for it: 24 pipelines and 750MHZ
but I could do with a better CPU
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by andrewsvalesen
I know you said you aren't an Oc'er
but Intels Core 2 duo series beat AMD's FX-64 card for half the price.

That is. If you OC.
Which you said you aren't.
But to the point..
I'd just keep Windows XP.
From what I hear Vista isn't good for gaming. (Rumor. No idea if true or not.)
And Vista will be hella expensive.
I was looking at a chart, and the X2 4800 completely obliterates a core2 duo in price to ghz... I would never buy an FX card, the top of the line processors are so outrageously overpriced, I'll stick with a medium range CPU, I'm not spending $1000 on an FX processor Although, I might get a core2 duo anyway, I just find it hard to believe they could be better than AMD, the company I always go to for gaming processors... although, it would be nice to have a gaming processor that works well with adobe too

Which sub-$300 CPU is best right now? Will AMD be releasing new processors anytime soon?

Windows XP - $250
Windows Vista - $350

If I bought XP, I'd buy Vista in about a year...if I bought Vista, I'd be content for 5 years. Compare the prices $350 for vista, or $600 for both

Actually, my mother works at Gateway, and they're testing Vista on some of their 'vista ready' PCs, they appear to run great, even Oblivion ran well, or at least, "better than the 360 version"

I'm willing to pay $100 more for Vista, and I think I've decided to buy it already at or near launch, but I would love it if you could give me more info on processors Would it be worth it to OC a core 2 duo? I know how, I'm just afraid I might do something wrong...I don't know...I could read a step by step article, get some AC5, and try it...but....what about my warranty?

-Thanks for the Help, but Vista is the reason I'm not buying a mac right now
ubercow is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
No way an X800 Pro runs Oblivion on its highest settings. I can't even get close to highest on my 7800GT.

Get the G80, which is comming next month if you want to play Crysis. Doing it with today's cards would require SLI and it doesn't sound like you want to go that route.
My definition of highest settings, is everything that I care about on max. My resolution won't go above 1280x1024 because of my monitor, the only shadows I care about are canopy shadows, and I have blood on the lowest setting, AA is also on only 2x.

Oblivion and Crysis are actually the reasons I'm upgrading, Oblivion is really slowing down, I can't tell if it's the animal foot steps (I have an integrated sound card) or my GPU, probably both. Well, I'll be getting a DX10 card as soon as it comes out, or as soon as an OEM package is available from Newegg

P.S. ATI cards are far superior than Nvidea's in Oblivion, so it really isn't surprising that are cards perform at around the same level, of course, you can go play Half-Life 2 and obliterate my card if you want
ubercow is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Will DX10 run on current mobos? Or do they need a new chipset? I just found a heaping pile of Crysis videos and I'm thinking if theres anyway i can get to run 100% on my system. I think I'll need 3GHz of AMD or equivilant and a G80 card... *I wish I had Conroe.... :/ *
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 08:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
Will DX10 run on current mobos? Or do they need a new chipset? I just found a heaping pile of Crysis videos and I'm thinking if theres anyway i can get to run 100% on my system. I think I'll need 3GHz of AMD or equivilant and a G80 card... *I wish I had Conroe.... :/ *
If you can play Oblivion, you're pretty much set for vista, but, for Crysis...well, %100 won't even be accomplished by the G80 if I'm not mistaken....
ubercow is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 08:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The G80 should be perfect to play UT2007 and other Unreal Engine 3 games. Only time will tell about Crysis.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 09:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
The G80 should be perfect to play UT2007 and other Unreal Engine 3 games. Only time will tell about Crysis.
Yep, well, at least I have my hype for Wii to occupy until me untill Crysis's release
ubercow is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 04:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

well 100% meaning features, like hdr and shader 3...sorry. (16x AA is just retarded if you ask me.) I'd like to not feel the need to build a new system from the ground up just to play Crysis, thats all.

I know I'll need a 2nd GB of ram and a G80 card. Hopefully my 2.5GHz x2 will be enough. (what on earth are those systems they run it on???)
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 05:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

On those Crysis demonstration videos. What are the specs on the computer are they using. Because it seems, Crysis is running pretty good on the system they're using.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.