Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2008, 05:45 AM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

dark i think u meant NTFS xD ntsc is the american tv format. but yeah it is pretty simple to install windows, boot from the cd and just like installing a app. pretty much.

nagasama, thats a great idea, i wish i had another hdd, coz i hate backing up all my stuff.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 11:57 AM   #22 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

yeah it never hurts to back up, i guess.... i never do lol.
i just hope my hdd doesnt take a dump, then everything is ok. i am protected against an OS failure, but a hard drive failure would screw me up. at least i have all my games on a seperate one, so i wouldnt have to re-install them all. which, after i had to do that the first time, was the reason i bought the second.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
dark i think u meant NTFS xD ntsc is the american tv format. but yeah it is pretty simple to install windows, boot from the cd and just like installing a app. pretty much.

nagasama, thats a great idea, i wish i had another hdd, coz i hate backing up all my stuff.
Haha I didn't notice that, I have been looking at getting a new hdtv so I made that mistake . The partition suggestion is a really great idea I may have to do that the next time I format.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 11:14 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

I took the easy way out and bought an over-priced SATA hardrive from circuitcity. My old one was only 40 gigs and my new one is 320 so at least I upgraded. But what do you guys mean windows wont work on it because its dell? I installed windows and registered it with my dell windows XP product key.

I'm currently in the middle of installing my drivers. The audio driver for my mobo isn't really working but at least I can now use my computer.
The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 02:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Alrighty, now this is the problem I've been facing.



As you can see I clicked on next and then the message popped up. After that nothing happens. Eventually I just have to go to task manager and end the process. Everything else on the cd installed properly except for the sound. Also my video card driver doesn't load up when put into my dvd drive but I'm not sure if it is needed since I was able to play Hellgate: London well.
The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 06:16 PM   #26 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Have you tried just leaving it for 20 mins?
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 06:33 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

I didn't read through the entire post here, but the way I knew my hard drive was the problem is by downloading ubuntu. It's an operating system. You can run it off the CD and completely ignore your hard drive. Your RAM acts as the HD space.

Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 07:28 PM   #28 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

How would that determine weather it's the hard disk or not?

Someone fill me on here please
Nick is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:31 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
Have you tried just leaving it for 20 mins?
It's been on for a half hour now and no changes.
The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 03:27 PM   #30 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Upgraded an old dell; something went wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark strike1 View Post
What you do is boot from the cd, then let it load, select install new windows, format your NTSC petition, and after its done formatting install windows using NTSC. That is if you don't have anything to back-up.


You mean partition and NTFS. NTSC is a video format for American television sets.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Releases Bios Updates For Several Nvidia Video Cards Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-30-2008 12:41 PM
Upgraded RAM to 2GB on Dell Demension 3000 but....... hesson81 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-01-2008 10:23 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.