Thermal Paste? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2007, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default Thermal Paste?

How important is using thermal paste?
__________________

NathanLedet is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

Very... Its as important as the cpu cooler. Get yourself some Arctic Silver 5 if your looking into buying some.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

Does it generally come with the Motherboard or the CPU? Or do I need to go ahead and buy some with my entire order?
NathanLedet is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

A new CPU usually comes with a stock cooler with thermal paste pre-applied. However, typically that thermal paste is not very high quality. Spend the 6 bucks on some AS5.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

Will do. Thank you
NathanLedet is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

When you buy a CPU it typically comes on the bottom of the stock cpu cooler. This however is not the best stuff, it will most likely come in the form of a grey patch on the bottom of the heat sync.

Like This..

Some after market coolers also come with thermal paste.

You might want to buy some ArctiClean Thermal Material Remover... sometimes that greyish patch can be hard to get cleaned off.. but if you take it off before you use it, it shouldn't be to difficult, because it hasn't melted yet.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

It is a MUST...even crappy Thermal paste is needed. However get some Arctic Silver 5 for like 5 bucks if you can as it's known as the best.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

How is AS Ceramique?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

It is used to bond tiny heatsinks that do not have a clamp like ramsinks. It is just like AS paste but with an adhesive.

Also, @Phantom, doesn't alcohol or acetone melt the bejebus out of thermal patches and paste? I use it to clean processors and HS and it seems to do the job.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default Re: Thermal Paste?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
How is AS Ceramique?
Not as good as regular AS5. I heard a while ago that Ceramique, because of its different composition, made it very hard for you to seperate the Heatsink from the CPU because there would be no air left and the Ceramique is tougher than the regular stuff.

Don't know why you wouldn't get the regular stuff anyway. =/
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you still want a video on how to apply/remove thermal compound? Trifid New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-11-2009 08:51 PM
e6400 OCing problems Higach Overclocking and Modding 7 03-27-2007 07:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.