RAM Dilemma - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2008, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Question RAM Dilemma

Hey all its Gabb again, I was hoping for some input or a follow up on a previous question I had. My current system ( specs in signature ) has 2 gigs of Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I wanted to get this Ram but was a little weary and am pretty paranoid when it comes to Ram not working and getting blue screens ( as many of the people complained about in their reviews )
Newegg.com - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

so I thought since my current ram works so well ( never got a BSOD and always have software related crashes ) I figured I could get another 2 gigs of the same RAM, and maybe even thought it could be cheaper since it was older
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
I guess I wasnt THAT surprised that its still expensive ( in comparison to other great deals ) since they probably no longer make it anymore. Anyone have any input on what I should do? Or is 4 gigs really not that big of a deal since I have a 32 bit OS still and plan to keep it for at least a year or two. ( so as I understand it with a 32 bit OS I would technically only have 4 gigs - video memory of 700 mb, 3.3 ish gigs of ram )

PS. Im assuming its a terrible idea to put another 2 gig stick of some other type of ram even if it has the same timings etc

BTW my computer is 1 year old
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Ram dilemma

I would go with the ocz reaper
Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Or ddr2 800
Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Ram dilemma

ddr2800 is better price/performance.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Ram dilemma

thanks for the links, ddr2 1066 doesnt really seem that much more expensive so Im guessing there must be very litlte performance diff between that and ddr2 800? Any chance Im going to find 2 gigs of my G.Skill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ for cheap anywhere? ( I looked at the main websites ).

Also what do u guys think about my last question, is it even worth it since Im essentially paying around $100 for a 1.3 gig ram boost.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 12:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Ram dilemma

1.3 added gigs of memory is a pretty large boost in performance. What are you using your computer for.. Is it gaming, video/audio editing, or multi-tasking?
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 12:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Ram dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by grkbar View Post
1.3 added gigs of memory is a pretty large boost in performance. What are you using your computer for.. Is it gaming, video/audio editing, or multi-tasking?
Is it really that big a boost in performance? When I last asked this question many said I wouldnt really notice the boost that much. I primarily just this computer for gaming.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 12:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Ram dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
thanks for the links, ddr2 1066 doesnt really seem that much more expensive so Im guessing there must be very litlte performance diff between that and ddr2 800? Any chance Im going to find 2 gigs of my G.Skill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ for cheap anywhere? ( I looked at the main websites ).

Also what do u guys think about my last question, is it even worth it since Im essentially paying around $100 for a 1.3 gig ram boost.
difference is you have to OC your ddr2 800 a lot to keep up with high FSB overclocks.
my reapers (1066) do 1150+ pretty easy with decent timings and stock voltage. ddr2 800 of late, that kind of clock is difficult without a lot of voltage and a fair bit of luck. not like the old days when we could get the sticks up to ddr2 1100 + with 2.25 and 4-4-4 timings (or better).
if you are running close to 400mhz fsb, ddr2 800 is fine. probably can get better timings at that speed, too.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 01:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Ram dilemma

you can have my pair for 60 ^^
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 03:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Ram dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
difference is you have to OC your ddr2 800 a lot to keep up with high FSB overclocks.
my reapers (1066) do 1150+ pretty easy with decent timings and stock voltage. ddr2 800 of late, that kind of clock is difficult without a lot of voltage and a fair bit of luck. not like the old days when we could get the sticks up to ddr2 1100 + with 2.25 and 4-4-4 timings (or better).
if you are running close to 400mhz fsb, ddr2 800 is fine. probably can get better timings at that speed, too.
I'm running at 300 fsb and dont really plan to overclock any further since my temps get hot already in the summer and Im still at stock voltage for the processor. What would my timings be theoretically if I get ddr2 800 or ddr2 1066? I thought it was pretty hard to get a 1:1 ratio going on?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 03:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Ram dilemma

3:4 ratio is fine....i dont think you can even tell in real world apps

i'd just crank ur voltage up to 1.37/1.4 and set the FSB to 400, and the pair i have is from april, and its guaranteed D9GMH just like your set is in case ur wondering.
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.