Overdue Upgrade....well kinda - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 06:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

So yo just apply the paste, a little dot of it, then spread it around the processor, then cuck on the heatsink or fan? whatever it's called
__________________

__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

yup thats true, I would suggest either getting a latex glove for your hand [yeah, those that doctors use for anal tests XD ] and spread it with your finger, OR you could do it gently with an old credit card you no longer need, both will work..


-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
yeah, but i did hear around that thermal paste dosnt even help..
Uhh no thermal paste does help. But dont put too much on it, cus after a certain amount of thermal paste has been put on(too much)it can actually raise your temps.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 10:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
Uhh no thermal paste does help. But dont put too much on it, cus after a certain amount of thermal paste has been put on(too much)it can actually raise your temps.
but uhh, ive never used thermal paste in my life and my temps are better then average?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 11:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

lol? either your stock cooler came with it or you're ********ting us. no way in **** you're running without any conductive material between your CPU and HS/F. if thats half true you'r cpu would either be overloaded by heat or burned.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 11:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
lol? either your stock cooler came with it or you're ********ting us. no way in **** you're running without any conductive material between your CPU and HS/F. if thats half true you'r cpu would either be overloaded by heat or burned.

-Jo.
OH YEAH, the stock thermal pad but no arctic silver or anything.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.