New Build Windows Install Won't Recognize HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2012, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default New Build Windows Install Won't Recognize HDD

I built my uncle a desktop for Christmas. I have an Asus Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3V motherboard with Intel Celeron G530 processor. His primary hard drive is a Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB drive. I successfully built the computer, but when I tried to install Windows Vista, it said it can't find the hard drive. I checked the BIOS, and the drive is recognized in the BIOS menu, so I don't think the drive is bad (though it might be, I don't know if seeing it in the BIOS menu means the drive is good). When I put in the motherboard driver disc in the DVD-ROM drive, the Windows Installer can't find the driver it needs through a scan, and I don't know which drive I need to select to do it manually. Can anybody give me any advice on this? I leave on 12/31 to go back to where I live, so I'd like to get his OS installed before then. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

cobbljock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: New Build Windows Install Won't Recognize HDD

Are you plugged into the white ports or the blue ports? Try changing which port the drive is plugged into. You might need to go into the bios and change a few settings.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Re: New Build Windows Install Won't Recognize HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Are you plugged into the white ports or the blue ports? Try changing which port the drive is plugged into. You might need to go into the bios and change a few settings.
Which settings are you referring to, specifically? Like IDE to AHCI? I'm not super familiar with all the BIOS options, I just know enough to do simple things, like choose my boot drive, identify drives, etc. And by White or Blue ports you do mean the white or blue SATA ports, right?
cobbljock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: New Build Windows Install Won't Recognize HDD

Yes, and yes. Try switching back and forth between the 2 until it shows up. I would start with AHCI on the blue ports.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Re: New Build Windows Install Won't Recognize HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yes, and yes. Try switching back and forth between the 2 until it shows up. I would start with AHCI on the blue ports.
Thanks. I tried using AHCI while plugged into the blue ports, but no luck. Also, I don't have any white SATA ports on my particular motherboard. If I can see it on the BIOS screen, it definitely means the HDD isn't bad, right? I got the drive on Amazon, so it's no trouble to exchange it, but it doesn't seem to me that the drive is bad.
cobbljock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: New Build Windows Install Won't Recognize HDD

If you provided the right model number then your board does indeed have 2 right angle ports that are white.



If the drive shows up in the bios then it is functional and should show up in the list for the OS. Since it isn't showing up it means the OS doesn't have drivers for the controller the drive is plugged into.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drivers, hard drive, vista

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.