laptop upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default laptop upgrade

My friend has a laptop and wants to upgrade to wireless. Now if it were a desktop I could just do it for her and wouldn't have any questions, but I've never had a laptop so I figured I should ask.

here goes: first off is it relatively easy to upgrade it yourself or is it better to take it to a store and have them do it?

Second, What kinda of wireless adapter should she get? she only really uses basic internet so she doesn't need anything special. Again I'm really familiar with desktops but not laptops so I don't even know if you need a certain kind or what. Like would a desktop adapter work?

and just in general is there anything else I should know?
if you need more info I'll ask her and post it up ASAP.

Thanks
__________________

bum is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

you canjust buy a wifi pc card for the laptop and slide it into the pc card slot on the side, its that easy.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I've used this one before, it's very good.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833150004
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Or for an even simpler solution, there's a USB version of what jorsoft03 is using (which is what I'm using )

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833150021
Xaine is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

What if there isn't much Wifi at her house? (I have a wireless router so I know how all that works). Is there something she can just plug into her modem or is a wireless router the only reasonable way to go?

Thanks to all who responded.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

She could just plug her laptop directly from her modem if there is an ethernet port. Which there probably is...
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

I like the convienence of WiFi, but I realy dont like its performance or reliability.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.