Here.. suggestions? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default Here.. suggestions?

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/4...pspecs27yh.jpg

Suggestions? Changes? Please.. just keep in mind that I want to save some money and I don't want to have to do much by myself. (All I want to do is install the HD and vid card).

thanks!
__________________

dive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

well building it by yourself will actually save u money. buying a prebuilt system is like buying it from a computer manufacturer. well that configuration is good but the price is not.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default

I just don't know how I would build it because I don't know much about computers. All the parts would arrive and then I wouldn't know where to start..
dive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

i'm not telling u to build it ur self instead. i'm just saying that, that computer is good. i understand that u don't want to do much work but overall, that system will suit ur needs.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default

I know but I want to save money too... I could try to build it myself.. except I would worry that I wouldn't learn how to do it right

Btw.. can you just tell me what mobo you think is best.. there are like 30 to choose from. I want it to have everything I need.. like PCI-e slots.. and i dont want it to suck.. lol

maybe your EVGA 133-K8-NF41-AX nForce 4 SLI Mainboard or Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI or MSI K8N NEO4 Platinum


also i could go with your Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550w PSU instead of the Antec NeoPower480 ATX 2.01 480W... yours is less expensive but more W?
dive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

DFi and MSI mobos are generally considered good on this forum, I don't have neither so I couldn't really tell you which one is the best.

I have an Abit AN8-Sli, I can tell you right now, it sucks.

You MUST buy a GOOD powersupply, my Ultra V-Series PSU failed me in 3 months, unfortunately I opened the cover so I can't RMA.

Where on that list is your harddrive?

To build a computer, your manuals will help you the most, I suggest browsing this forum, I am sure there are lots of guides to how to build a computer. If its your frist time building a computer, have a friend or someone who knows what they're doing to give you a few pointers or to help you out.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default

HD and vid card I'm buying from newegg.. maybe this one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144178

You tell me what mobo and psu to go with.. I really have no idea
dive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

i would go for the DFI mobo because most of the forums regarding motherboards, they always mention DFI. and also DFI boards are best at overlcocking as well as they are highly rated and popular and had some really good reviews.

as for the PSU, well my PSU is awsome. powers up everything and besides it's also quiet. Antec is also a reliable manufacturer

and btw, i really don't care much about motherboards cuz i don't really overclock as long as they have the features i'm lookin for and that they're either from DFI, ABIT ,ASUS, GIGABYTE, MSI. exept for the mobo i have rite now cuz it came free wid my video card and it's working perfectly.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dive
maybe your EVGA 133-K8-NF41-AX nForce 4 SLI Mainboard or Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI or MSI K8N NEO4 Platinum


also i could go with your Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550w PSU instead of the Antec NeoPower480 ATX 2.01 480W... yours is less expensive but more W?
r u trying to get the parts like mine? cuz my system is just newly built. the reason i chose the Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550w PSU because my video card requires a minimum of 450w, it also have pci-e power connectors. those where the ones that i was lookin for and ended up buying it and it was cheap cuz i found a good deal.

as for the motherboard, well i got it free with my video card. i was lookin for a mobo that has 2000mhz fsb, supports X2 and dual channel, and has SATA connection. so i stick wid it and saved me money cuz i didn't have to buy another one. what's even better was dat it supports SATAII.

and wid all dat said, i'm happy wid my entire setup. it's working FLAWLESSLY
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default

well i dont know a lot about the components so i might as well go with stuff someone else has that works well.

atm i have a p4 2.66 ghz processor.. so if im getting a new comp i might as well get a better processor.. except i wouldnt mind saving money too.

should i make sure to get a mobo with SLI
__________________

dive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.