Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 11:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

But thats the weird thing, The line in both graphing boxes are spiked near the top when i have no programs running what so ever
__________________

KayoticOrigin is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by KayoticOrigin View Post
But thats the weird thing, The line in both graphing boxes are spiked near the top when i have no programs running what so ever
That is wierd. Is the system really slow, like it's got no CPU cycles left over too? (Huge delays and waits to open anything, even the start menu, and so on.)

Because from that task manager list, it just looks like a display bug. I've never seen anything like this before, honestly.
__________________

__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

umm well everything seemed a little bit slow but things don't take forever to open up really, my CPU is at 80% right now but i just tried to open a bunch of things and they all opened in a few seconds, so i think things might have seemed slower because i thought my comp was being slow, is it possible that my processor usage not really be at 80% and its just displaying it wrong? because ive reinstalled vista like 3 or 4 times both 32bit and 64bit and its the same problem. so could nothing be worng at all and its jsut vista is reading the cpu wrong?
KayoticOrigin is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by KayoticOrigin View Post
umm well everything seemed a little bit slow but things don't take forever to open up really, my CPU is at 80% right now but i just tried to open a bunch of things and they all opened in a few seconds, so i think things might have seemed slower because i thought my comp was being slow, is it possible that my processor usage not really be at 80% and its just displaying it wrong? because ive reinstalled vista like 3 or 4 times both 32bit and 64bit and its the same problem. so could nothing be worng at all and its jsut vista is reading the cpu wrong?
I'd bet money that Vista's just reading the processor usage wrong. (I don't know what would make it do that, but I bet that Microsoft support would...)

If your processor usage was really that high, you wouldn't have any questions about it. When I have any issues with those OS processes locking the CPU at >90%, it will literally take 15 seconds for the start menu to open after I click it. I go into the task manager to kill the process, but that also literally takes a minute or two, because of how long it takes for the OS to open up task manager, change tabs and then pop up that stupid box asking if I *really* want to stop the process... and the to actually stop it. Blech. svchost is my mortal enemy. >:/
__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help

Ok i'll give Microsoft Support a shot and see if they can be helpful for once. But thank you very much, this was really bothering me a lot. I hope its just that windows is reading the usage wrong cause that would let me rest easy. Thanks again CitizenCain you were a great help.
__________________

KayoticOrigin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
best dual core suske Overclocking and Modding 7 07-03-2007 08:18 PM
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.