Dell - Overpriced RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2008, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default Dell - Overpriced RAM?

So I've been in the process of putting together a machine on the Canadian Dell website & discovered that to add the ram listed below costs about $1600 or so:

8GB, DDR2 SDRAM FBD Memory, 800MHz, ECC (4 DIMMS)

I thought that was a pretty high price, so I checked tigerdirect.ca for some similar ram & found these sticks for $130 or so.

OCZ SLI-Ready Dual Channel 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2x2048MB) OCZ2N800SR4GK in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

I also found this stick for $85 or so.

Centon 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory 2GB800DDR2 in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

So can anyone tell me if the ram that dell is selling is in fact different than the stuff tigerdirect has? I've always heard that Dell was a bit overpriced but this is outrageous. I must be missing something.

You can see my previous post to get an idea of what I'm building:

8 Cores w. 8 GB of RAM
__________________

joelminns is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Dell - Overpriced RAM?

Do you have a screenshot of that RAM with the high price? That sounds completely way off base. Dell usually overprices RAM by $20-30 per GB but not THAT much. Are you sure it wasn't DDR3 RAM that was listed on Dell? Because DDR3 is much more expensive and 8GB of that probably could run pretty high.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Wink Re: Dell - Overpriced RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelminns View Post
So I've been in the process of putting together a machine on the Canadian Dell website & discovered that to add the ram listed below costs about $1600 or so:

8GB, DDR2 SDRAM FBD Memory, 800MHz, ECC (4 DIMMS)

I thought that was a pretty high price, so I checked tigerdirect.ca for some similar ram & found these sticks for $130 or so.

OCZ SLI-Ready Dual Channel 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2x2048MB) OCZ2N800SR4GK in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

I also found this stick for $85 or so.

Centon 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory 2GB800DDR2 in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

So can anyone tell me if the ram that dell is selling is in fact different than the stuff tigerdirect has? I've always heard that Dell was a bit overpriced but this is outrageous. I must be missing something.

You can see my previous post to get an idea of what I'm building:

8 Cores w. 8 GB of RAM

You missed something. It's EEC ram for a server. That's why it's expensive.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Dell - Overpriced RAM?

The highest price on Newegg for ECC SDRAM at DDR2 800 ends up being about $36 per GB or $288 total. Not sure what company or type of ECC ram it could be that would be that expensive.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Dell - Overpriced RAM?

FB dimms are why its so expensive. Its the same kind of crap you have to put in the skulltrail board. ITs because its basically server memory.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Ram For dell E510 4 gb dykzeulb Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 02-18-2008 01:01 AM
Dell precision 650 workstation 1Gb ram trouble cmfugen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-16-2008 02:47 AM
dell xps m1330 ram upgrade worth it? ssturge963 Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-31-2008 12:52 AM
FS: Dell Inspiron 9300 (XPS Clone) 2 GB RAM, 2.4 GHz pinmod, 6800 Ultra, 100 GB Disillusion Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 19 12-20-2007 10:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.