Buying from craigslist , help :) - Page 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2013, 05:54 PM   #91 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

Yea that's not bad. Find a DVI cable and bring it and have him hook it up first to see it in action. Some people claim they don't have cables because they are trying to sell bad product.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 05:57 PM   #92 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
neilsugg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennesssee
Posts: 93
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

alright, that'll be the plan I just asked if I could test it out there on the 13th when i go for other computer
__________________

neilsugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 06:01 PM   #93 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
neilsugg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennesssee
Posts: 93
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

his reply

"If I still have it sure. I'm not aggressively selling it. But like I said I don't have a vga cord, but I can get a pic of it powered on for you"

I told him.
"It's cool i have extra cables lying around I can bring one and my computer "

We'll see his reply. Sounds scammy >_>
neilsugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 06:12 PM   #94 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

Indeed sounds like a scam. Turning it on doesn't show the picture quality. BTW don't forget about that edit button.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 07:37 PM   #95 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
neilsugg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennesssee
Posts: 93
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

Yeah, sorry about that. I will :P

So I bought a mouse, and pad and keyboard now. I will buy computer and possibly that screen on the 13th what should I upgrade first? gpu I believe you said. How much am I looking at for that?
neilsugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:01 PM   #96 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

This is the best low profile card you can buy.

PowerColor AX7750 1GBD5-HL Radeon HD 7750 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card - Newegg.com
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:33 PM   #97 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
neilsugg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennesssee
Posts: 93
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

Will the board I be getting have a pci 3.0? I'll probably have to check when I get it.
neilsugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:46 PM   #98 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

No, but it will work. PCI-E is all backwards compatible.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:00 PM   #99 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
neilsugg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennesssee
Posts: 93
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

Really than what's the benefit if putting it in a 3.0 over 2.0?
neilsugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:10 PM   #100 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Buying from craigslist , help :)

PCI-E expands their bandwidth capabilities before the bus gets saturated. Think of it as upgrading a power grid for a city before the city expands beyond the capability of the grid.

Current cards do not saturate the 3.0 16x bus, but when you run SLI or Crossfire 680/Titan or 7970s on a Z77 board you want PCI-E 3.0 because it drops to dual 8x. Dual PCI-E 3.0 8x is the same bandwidth as 2.0 16x. There is no benifit of putting lower end cards in a 3.0 slot because low end cards do not saturate a 2.0 16x slot. They are only 3.0 because the chip tech is based on 3.0.

PCI-E was set as a standard for backwards compatibility. You can put the top of top end cards in a low end 16x 1.0a slot if you wanted to. It would hold back the performance, but would still run regardless. In your case, putting that video card in that computer will be 100% fine performance wise. THe 7750 is a low end card.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help building computer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.