Building a high-end PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2006, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Talking Building a high-end PC

Well its been well over 5 months now that ive been saving and i finally have enough to build a high-end machine. The thing is this will be the first PC i have ever built. So im going to need some suggestions, if the hardware that i have chosen is good or not, so please read on for my specs.

Case: Thermaltake Armor series, very nice case and its big, when i saw it in person it was even bigger then i thought. Has 3 fans: 2x120mm and one 90mm.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133154

HD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 3.5" Serial ATA150, well all i know about this is 10k rpm is good to have so is the 16mb cache, but i have no cluse what that means, does it mean the retrival rating of files and how fast things are put onto the HD? Also this is one pricey HD and for the same price i could get 500gb @ 7200, so is the WD HD worth it?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136012

RAM: CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory, ok i dont know much about ram expet that the speed has to match the mobo and the functions it preforms other then that, meh. Any suggestions would be nice.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145575

Mobo: DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard, same problem as the ram all i know is the motherboards function, but as far as brand names go this is the best i think. Again suggestions greatly appreciated.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151

Psu: Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W, umm it gives power the comp? Please any suggestion :P
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

Cpu: Ok this is my biggest problem, right now i have my eye on the very sexy FX-60, but its quite price, but its a dual core and its freaking fast. Another "but" is that its the same speed as the fx-57, and the fx-57 is $200 less but its not dual core. My dilemma is, yes the fx-60 is sexy but if its more over kill then anything else, should i just get the fx-57. I do have the money for it, but who doesnt want to save $200. And i know its dependent on what ill be doing, so heres a list of some of the things: harcore gaming, video editing, very minimal music editing, some art and 3d art, and the other regular stuff. You guys can ignore everything else but this is the most important thing.

GPU:eVGA 512-P2-N570-AX Geforce 7900GTX 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16, im not going to get the Superclocked version becuase form what ive read its very buggy.

Monitor: I think ill just be using my 42" plasma, the native res i think is 1600x1400 or 1200 im not sure about the last part. I have put a PC onto the tv with a DVI connector and it looks awesome, so i should be fine here.

Sound: I have a 5.1 sound system that works just fine. Im not a sound freak :P

OS: I am getting windows xp, but i dont know if i should get the pro or home edition.

Additional things id like to get but if they are not needed please tell me: fan controls, a heat sink for OC, a heatsink for my GPU, temp guage. If you guys know of any other hardware ill need please post it.

So in conclusion thank you for reading through my long *** post, and thank for any suggestions and advice. Ill be posting my comps pics by then end of the next month, still need 2 more paychecks >_>
__________________

vago20093 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

wow, hella resolution on your plasma! what kind is it? i'm looking for one right now, but it all i've found is around 1024x768.

as far as the processor goes, i was looking at the fx60 too. the guys around here all praise over clocking the opteron 165, im pretty sure thats what i'm going to do. considering you'll save ~$700 and get about the same performance, its a pretty smart move.
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to CodeDelta16
Default

OK I’ll be honest I'm about as knowledgeable as you are. But I have learned some things over the years.

Case: That case is HUGE< you're right, if you need to space, or wire management, more power to you.

HD: It is my opinion that it's not a HUGE difference for the speed. It's better, don't get me wrong; but is it really worth it? 500G is more space than you will ever need, but you never hear someone say "I just have to much space, I don't know what to put there" there is always something to put there.

Mobo: You're going with a 939 socket, I hear that's good. NVIDIA SLI has allot of good ratings.

PSU: Not only does the PSU give power to the "computer" it plugs into virtually every component on your PC. I didn't look to see if that is modular but a modular PSU is nice (may not perform as well I hear) all the cables are removable meaning if you aren't using it, it doesn't have to hang out. Nice touch since you will have a side window and cable management helps the look of your PC.


CPU: I have been researching this recently, and don't take me to my word, but as I see it, Dual Core is if you will be running more than one application at once. 90 percent of the applications out there wont be able to take advantage of dual core if it's the sole application running. I have a Pentium D, and it's great when I’m running multiple apps, but otherwise, doesn't increase my performance much.

OS: I would go with professional, simply because it's better with more stuff you might need. No other reasons.

Hope that helped some. Good luck!

-cD
CodeDelta16 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I will go at this in no order so will be all over the place. :/

The raptors are over exagerated. Go with the bigger drive. http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=2577

I don't like XMS ram, just has a 'thing' about it... I would go for OCZ personally, well priced - good timmings. 2gb is perfect right now.

Motherboard = good.

Case, I love my Kandalf case, so would do for that. Very easy to work with, unless you want to take out the front hdd cage out when the GPU is still in.

PSU is fine. I am slightly bored of Antec but they make great PSU's.

The graphics card will run games great at the resolution of the monitor. I have started running games at 2048 resolution, and its great until HDR is used. That graphics card should run it flawlessly though.

The CPU. I do think the FX60 is a rich mans toy. If you have the money you will not be dissapointed. If not spend the weekend overclocking a Opteron 165. Or otherwise get a 4800 and bump it straight to 2.6ghz.

Fan controllers are not needed, but are if you get tornado fans due to the noise levels...

Heatsinks, I think it is worth it to get a good one along with a syringe of Artic Silver 5.

For Pro, if you want to run a server on your PC, network multiple PC's, have more advanced administrator controls or other DOS prompt codes than it is worth it. Otherwise, no.

The GPU comes with a huge heatsink, you will not get anything much better than that.

and no to temperature gauges...
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Awesome advice guys thanks keep it coming , another thing about the cpus, yea i know you can overclock a cheaper processer to the speeds of the fx series, but if i get the fx series i have read i can over clock it to 3.5, it might not be true but i think it sounds about right. If you can overclock an opteron 1.8 to 2.6 then i should easily be able to get my fx-60 (or fx-57 havent decided yet) 3.2+ ^^b
vago20093 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 03:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Sorry, doesn't work like that. AMD uses the same core for the set of CPU's but with a different multiplier. With that said, this is the highest clocked FX60 http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ighlight=FX-60

This was done with dry ice, and will not be a long term speed, as you can see.

The opteron will OC very high too - can't be bothererd to give evidence.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 03:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

i c, thanks for the info, so whats the highest i can overclock one of the FXs to with out using one of those crazy cooling things, and just using a good heatsink.
vago20093 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

the fx-60 will get up to 3.2 with a thermaltake big typhoon. Not sure about others.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 05:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

but the opteron 165 saves you 700 dollars
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 06:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

true but the fx has an unlocked multiplier so you dont need to use a ram divider, so giving you better performance. still 700 dollars isnt worth it
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.