Adding a 2nd Hard Drive.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2010, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default Adding a 2nd Hard Drive..

Hey everyone,

I'm planning on upgrading my computer. I'm going to get a new motherboard (but I don't believe that's important right now), a new processor, and a new hard drive.
Today I need to learn more about which hard drive to choose.

I'm upgrading my 2007 low-budget gaming PC:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
AMD M2N-E SLI mobo
32-bit Vista Home Premium
4GB (2.8 recognized) RAM
nVidia GT240 1GB VRAM
160GB ATA hard drive

I'm planning on getting a new hard drive, but I need to know the answer to this question:

Does my new, second hard drive need to be an ATA hard drive? Or can it be SATA, IDE, etc.
Edit: Another stupid question but,
Any suggestions on motherboards? I need one that's ATX size, AMD processors, and nVidia friendly

Thanks

Planned New Mobo:
Planned New Processor:
Planned New Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148337
__________________

Kirbyscream is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Adding a 2nd Hard Drive..

No, it can be IDE if you want to daisy chain or SATA for speed.

There is the recent X6 AMD Processor for 259.00 US and a X4 for 159. I don't know what kind of budget you're looking at.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default Re: Adding a 2nd Hard Drive..

Well... I want a Hard Drive around 500 GB a Processor around 150 dollars, and the mobo preferably $80-150
Oh, and the mobo needs to be DDR2 RAM compatible, too.
Kirbyscream is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Adding a 2nd Hard Drive..

What speed of DDR 2 Ram are you using?

Also, ASRock suggestion for DDR2 ram and multiple socket support (AM2/AM3/AM3+)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157180
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default Re: Adding a 2nd Hard Drive..

Wow, perfect motherboard - the right dimensions and everything.. I'm sold.
Thanks for the help, I can do everything else on my own from here!
Kirbyscream is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding IDE Hard Drive(s) to a SATA Hard Drive Rig digital_ninja2k System Upgrades 1 08-07-2008 03:33 PM
Adding a third Hard drive rob91 System Upgrades 4 02-02-2008 07:10 AM
Adding a Hard Drive pikcle440 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-10-2006 07:30 PM
Adding RAID drive to existing hard drive? robellis System Upgrades 5 01-06-2006 02:24 PM
adding an old hard drive zeroordie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-07-2005 05:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.