Windows XP Sale - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 01:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

man general...


Looks like Im going to be making a 10 GB partion next time I reformat!

Got me all excited to give it a shot
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Give what a shot? Linux or buying a legit license for $10?
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Give what a shot? Linux or buying a legit license for $10?

I cant say I havent done either!


I seriously will give Linux a shot though.

I just dont want to get in over my head...

I did this online personal test thing (not sure if it was any good or not) and I awnsered a series of questions and It said Id be suited for Kubuntu.


I dont know if it was bogus or not...

I know a good deal of XP and such its just from what Iv heard some Linux versions can be very advanced.

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah, Linux is pretty nice. I think you won't have to bad of a time learning it and getting into the swing of things. You just need to keep an open mind, don't be quick to judge the likness of the command line, or how software is installed, and it will be cake from there.
The General is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:29 AM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

umm well, each windows can be used on 3 different occassions, or computers... so if your friend is willing to give up one of those 3, go for it.. after that, it won't let you register it online anymore
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:43 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

ok so nos boost all i have to do is install it and he will have one more time to use it on another computer? i still dont get wut ur saying...and where do i get a thingy for 10$?
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

I have a harddrive thats partitioned with Windows XP home SP1 on it..if i put that in and compy it to my new 250 gig HD will it work? if i start my comp wit windows xp on my partitioned hd will it work?
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well i don't get what your 2nd post is saying..

but anyway, your allowed to register window's xp up to 3 times before you can no longer install it on another computer.. well "legally" of course

i have windows xp home, and have it registered to 2 computers, legally, my rig, and my dads old piece of junk... so if he's willing to you can use his disk.

and i'll try to take a crack at ur second response... when you install, it may just update instead of fully install.. or even you could overwrite your other windows i guess
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:48 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

To get the $10 thingy, call them. I had to do it over the phone one time.

I'm not so bad after all.
The General is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

ok in my comp right now (my old compaq) it has a 40GB partitioned harddrive and in the partition is Windows XP Home SP1 (im guessing because my recovery disc installs win 98 but it always pops up windows xp (I just reformatted my comp (illegally downloading gives u viruses)))..if I pop in the HD that has Windows XP in the partition will it boot and install windows XP on my new computer?
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.