Video Card + 250W PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2006, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default Video Card + 250W PSU

My specs:

Dell Dimension 8200
P4 2.25Ghz
256MB RAM
GeForce 2 MX 64MB
Win XP
250W PSU

I want to upgrade the RAM and video card and will be very soon upgrading to 768MB RAM. I bought a 256MB Radeon 9600XT which arrived today and when I set it up and turned on the PC, the fan on the card would spin, PC would appear to boot up but no signal on the monitor and I don't think the PC was even loading Windows. I've been told it's most likely a power issue, so maybe the card is hogging it and preventing the PC from booting.

Can anyone recommend a good video card either 128MB or 256MB that will run on my 250W PSU? I know I should upgrade the PSU but apparently the Dell ones are weird and others may not fit in the case. I also can't be bothered to be honest particularly as I only want to upgrade the vid card and RAM so that I can play games up to about a year old pretty well (eg. RollerCoaster Tycoon 3, Rome: Total War and such) and later on I will just buy a whole new more upgrade friendly PC. So basically I just want to upgrade the Dell to keep me going until the end of the year or so.
__________________

fiarb0lt is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Upgrade your PSU. That is the only option....
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kitire
Upgrade your PSU. That is the only option....
I'd agree with that, dell only put in a PSU that just big enough for the stock components, you are another person burnt by dell
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, you need more power. You'll have to go through Dell to get a compatible power supply. Be prepared to choke up some substantial cash just to upgrade a meager 100W rating. That is, unless you're willing to buy a new motherboard AND psu. The parts are proprietary, so they're not compatible with the industry standards.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

I had a dimension 8200 and you can upgrade the psu. The 8200 was one of the few dells of that era that got a standard atx psu. Just make sure that it doesnt have a switch on the back, as the 8200 case doesn't have room for it.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Well, actually my computer is a dell 4600 which uses the same 250w PSU, I'm using a 6800 Vanilla with the pipelines and vertex shaders unlock and i have it oc'ed a bit.

I've seen people running 6800gt's on the dells 250w PSU. So no need for PSU upgrade either get 6800GS, or the 6800 Vanilla.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 04:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

.. Yeah... Right.

^^ Do NOT trust this dude.

300W for a single GeForce 6800GT is the required, plus dell psu's are ****.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 06:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm with Kitire. I'm calling b.s. on ridlyn. A 250W Dell PSU is just NOT up to suff for that kind of a video card. It's just a fact.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.