Upgrading question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2008, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Question Upgrading question

Okay im upgrading my comp and this is what im getting, i just basically need to know with windows xp and this motherboard will the ram im purchasing work, i remember something vaguely about it didnt support but up to a certain amount. It will be 4 gb, the following are the links to each product for your perusal and information. Thank you ahead of time. Also im wondering how i find out if this motherboard supports 2gb sticks on one ram slot or if i have to get them in 1 gb increments. Any advice is most appreciated.

(I already have a 550 watt power supply im going to try to reuse so i can save money without having to buy another one unless absolutely nescesary for the moment, i can always get another one later just trying to save cash for now)


MOTHERBOARD
NFORCE6M-A V.2.0 | Ecs Nforce6m-A S.Am2 Ddr2 Sata Pcie X16

CPU
eWiz.com AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 6000+* (3GHz) AM2, OEM

MEMORY
1stChoiceMemory.com - ECS NForce6M-A Motherboard RAM Memory Upgrades

VIDEO CARD
Newegg.com - PALiT NE/960TSX0202 GeForce 9600GT SONIC 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

okay well thats the basic idea, just want to make sure i havent bought the wrong ram basically, im pretty sure everythings right but its been a couple years since i really looked at comp components but i definitely have to upgrade my comps still running AGP so i need this new board for the PCIe, anyways any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.
__________________

shadowcage is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Upgrading question

Do you already have that motherboard, cpu, and graphics card or are you planning on getting them?
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Upgrading question

I plan on getting them in the next few weeks.
shadowcage is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Upgrading question

These upgrades will give you allot better performance and cost $480.

Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N800-TR GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP43-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 Wolfdale 2.53GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

Also you will need a 64bit operating system to use all 4gb of ram
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 07:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Upgrading question

yea I agree with Puddle Jumper, the E7200 will give you better performance and it consume much less power. And that E7200 is not OEM like the 6000+ you posted
maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading question.. Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-04-2008 11:20 PM
Question About Upgrading To New HDD's chap_cat System Upgrades 4 01-13-2008 02:31 PM
Upgrading Motherboard and processor. HDD switch question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-28-2007 01:16 AM
Upgrading to XP pro question ingeborgdot Microsoft Windows and Software 7 05-25-2007 09:28 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.