Upgrading memory question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2009, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Upgrading memory question

I am thinking of upgrading my memory. I currently have 2 GB. I found a memory that is compatible with my motherboard, but now I have a question. I'm thinking of buying 2 GB more, but I have Vista Home Premium 32 bit OS, and I read that the 32 bit only supports up to 3.5 GB so I'm wondering if I should bother buying the 2 GB or should I settle for just a 1 GB upgrade.

Also the memory is from Crucial Memory, 2 GB - 240 DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300. Is that a good memory stick or do you suggest another.
__________________

Ares82 is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

What do you do with your computer? Do you game? Edit video and photos? Do you notice you computer being slow?

Also, link us to the memory you like so we can take a closer look at the specs. Corsair memory is generally pretty good, but it never hurts to look at specifics.

Lastly, you will only see around 3.5 GB of the memory with a 32bit OS, but that's still more than 2 GB.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

Ok I'm upgrading memory for gaming purposes.

Here is the link to the memory I am looking at
Computer memory upgrades for ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard from Crucial.com

Also if it matters I have an AMD based processor not Intel
Ares82 is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

Post the rest of your system specs also. Do you have one 2GB stick in now? If you're not sure run CPU-Z and look at the memory and SPD tabs. You just want to make sure you will get RAM that's compatible with what you already have.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

Ok I have a:

3 Mhz AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2N SLI Deluxe mother board
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB
2 GB memory (2x1GB) see link below
Newegg.com - A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model VDQVE1A16K - Desktop Memory

Do you need anything else?

By the way thanks for trying to help me.
Ares82 is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 10:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

Okay...that information is helpful. Your board supports dual channel memory and you already have a dual channel kit. So upgrading to the 2 GB stick you were thinking will not run in dual channel. It is also different speed (slower, 667 MHz vs. 800 MHz) than what you already have. For memory to run in dual channel it is recommended that you stay with the same brand and speeds (preferably the same model and everything). With that in mind I would either:
1. Buy another kit of what you already have
2. Purchase a new 4 GB kit. Any of the following would be good.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL4D-4GBPI-B - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - OCZ Blade Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model OCZ2B800C44GK - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model BL2KIT25664AL80A - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2RPR800C44GK - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model PVS24G6400LLKN - Desktop Memory
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

OK so if I follow Number 2 suggestion, I sounds like should just take out the memory I have in there now and replace it with the new one I buy?

I'll probably just follow that advice, specially considering I just got a 10% off offer from newegg for being a regular shopper there.
Ares82 is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

Exactly. You'll just put new memory in and scrap the old.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Upgrading memory question

Ok great, thanks a lot for your advice
__________________

Ares82 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Memory question Niverive New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-24-2008 11:28 AM
Vista64 memory question? kbaird Microsoft Windows and Software 10 12-06-2008 03:20 PM
Question about cache memory shenvoid01 System Upgrades 5 05-22-2008 09:17 AM
Memory overclock question Twizted_3kgt Overclocking and Modding 8 01-31-2008 04:19 PM
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 06:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.