Upgraded CPU but Bios don't recognize full power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2007, 03:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default Upgraded CPU but Bios don't recognize full power

I have an Asus p4s8x-x motherboard and just upgraded from a celeron 2.8 to a p4 3.06 533 fsb. The new processor is the absolute max that the board is supposed to be able to handle without overclocking. But after installing it I had not been able to get the Bios to recognize the full speed of the cpu. It would only see 1.6 ghz not 3.06. I have tried doing a repair reinstall and I have flashed the BIOS. Someone suggested that I may have been dupped, when I look under mycomputer/properties It says the processor is 3.06 and under device manager it also says that the cpu is a 3.06. So what do I need to do to get the board to recogize the full speed of the processor? It is also supposed to add the option of enable/disable hyperthreading once the new processor is installed, but it has not shown up in the Bios. Is it possible that I really did get jipped or do I need to do something to the Bios in order use the full power of this CPU?
__________________

joeodd2 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 03:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Download this and run it, it will tell you exactly what cpu you have.

http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-138.zip
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 03:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default

The program did indicate that the processor is a p4 3.06.

Here are the statistics for the Clocks

Core Speed: 1599.66

Multiplier: 12X

Bus Speed: 133.3

FSB: 533

I am also running XP Home Edition, however I have heard that XP Home does recognize the p4 3.06 chip and does support hyperthreading for that chip. Do I need to do a clean install to get this to work or perhaps there is a jumper for this board that I need to set.
joeodd2 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 03:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Can you possibly take a screen shot of it, I want to see exactly all the figures.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 03:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

The only thing that I can tell you right now is that your Multiplier should be 23x
brinks is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default

sorry my I was trying to adjust my bmp file to fit the attatchment standards. I heard in order to adjust the multiplier I would have to "unlock" the processor. How would I go about doing that?
joeodd2 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

I have no idea on how to unlock a locked processor's multiplier, I also have an asus board too(not same model) and I can only adjust the FSB(Front Side Bus) since multiplier is locked.

How's that screenshot coming along?
brinks is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default

ok let's try this

joeodd2 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default

I read some where that the mobile p4 will run at half power unless you make an adjustment to the power, I went into the power setting and set it to always, but it had no affect.
joeodd2 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

I didn't know you had a mobile p4, I'll have to do some searching about it since I don't know much about the mobile stuff.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.