Single or double CPU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 10:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Default

And just for fun, here is some of the items I came up with so far:

Enermax Liberty Modular Power Supply, 500W
http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.p...ctID=6816&SID=

2X Maxtor 200GB DiamondMax 10 7200RPM SATAII w/ 8MB Cache (ROHS)
http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.p...ctID=6971&SID=

Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe w/ DualDDR400, 7.1 Audio, Dual GB Lan, Dual PCI-E x16 SLI, Cool-Pipe
http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.p...ctID=6611&SID=

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ w/ 2x512K Cache (Socket 939)
http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.p...ctID=5841&SID=

XFX Geforce 7900 GT 256MB PCI-E w/ Dual DVI, HDTV-Out
http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.p...ctID=8785&SID=

Now, I don't know, will this video card/CPU combo be much better than what I have now or will it make no big difference?
__________________

PepeLapiu is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 10:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Why Maxtor HDs? Choose either Seagate or Westerns.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

pepe your upgrade makes no sense. either ONLY upgrade the CPU (and less importantly, case), or go all out and get a whole new system. the ram doesn't justify that you stick to socket 939..

if i were you, i'd just get that 4600+ you've selected, and thats it.

http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.p...ctID=5841&SID=

THEN, you can upgrade to a whole new system in like 1 year or os.


btw, thx for that website always good to have to price match and shop around
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Go with a X2
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 01:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Default

aliasaid:
You make sense only I forgot to mention that only one PCI slot works on my current machine .... so a new mobo would be in order too.

I guess I'll be buying an AGP mobo with a new case (this one REALLY needs to be dumped) some SATA HDs and that CPU, and keeping still with my old RAM, vid card, sound card, PSU, DVD drive, CD drive, floppy drive, and trashing the Hardcano.

What about RAM cooling fans? Is it a good idea or just a gimmick?

And will I see a big difference between my current AMD 3000 and the AMD 4600+ dual core?

gmanych:
What's a X2 .... a different socket?
What are the pros/cons of going with the X2 over the 939?
PepeLapiu is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 01:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

X2 = Dual-Core AMD processor

939 = Socket
The General is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 03:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 63
Default

Dual cores help make multitasking easier but can also help when running single processes as well as one core can handle all the system tasks and the other processing the program you are running.

As for which one right now the Intel Dual Core 2 is about 30% faster than the best AMD CPU but AMD is expected to release its new CPU sometime this fall which is supposed to have a quad core design.....
__________________
SPEEEED UP Windows XP using the secret tweaks in these videos.
toniaxp is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 01:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

X2 is a Cpu its runs on Skt 939 and AM2
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.