RAM question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2007, 07:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default RAM question

awhile ago my computer broke and i built a new one. I salvaged some parts from my old one like RAM, etc.

Right now in my computer im using 2 512 MB RAM sticks

I have an extra 1 GB stick laying around.

Would it increase my computer's performance if i added it in also?

Both the 512 and 1 GB sticks are PC3200, and all are CAS latency 3, and run at 200 mhz. The brand of the 512 sticks are Nanya and the 1 GB stick is Corsair.

I've been working a lot with video editing and stuff recently and thought the RAM increase would help out a little.

I was thinking of running the 2x512 sticks in the dual channel slots and the 1 gb stick in a separate slot.

the reason im asking is because i thought i read somewhere about performance issues with different brands and sizes of RAM but i don't remember the specifics of it.

any help is appreciated, thanks
__________________

Jlim is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: RAM question

no, will not increase performance, just headroom, i had 3x1 gb sticks and that sucked compared to 2x1 so yea, just keep the 2x512 in your comp and give the last stick to your dog
__________________

__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 08:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: RAM question

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
no, will not increase performance, just headroom, i had 3x1 gb sticks and that sucked compared to 2x1 so yea, just keep the 2x512 in your comp and give the last stick to your dog
errm this isn't true at all. The extra ram will definitely help...especially with video editing.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 08:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM question

Agreed with gurusan. Video editing, likes to use ram, so the extra 1gb will help.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 06:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: RAM question

thanks for the replies.

it seems like you guys said it will help with video editing, but will it decrease performance in games and such because the memory isn't the same and im not just using the dual channel slots?
Jlim is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: RAM question

it decreases performances in games
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM question

I don't think it decreases performance in games, that much, does it?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: RAM question

wont it also prohibit all of the ram from running in dual channel?
or just the 1gb stick?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM question

It will stop all the ram sticks from dual channel mode. But I heard, dual channel is not significantly better than non dual channel.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 01:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: RAM question

it would be good if u could sell that ram and pick up some 2*1gb stick hk there cheap
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incredibly simple question IfYouHaveToAsk Internet Software and Browsers 2 05-10-2007 11:36 AM
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 10:39 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.