prebuilt upgrading help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2011, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Default prebuilt upgrading help

had this for about 2years now.warrentys been up so no need to worry about voiding that anymore

i do moderate gaming in the sense that i play alot of em..but only when i have time(dam you school and work!).but my life revolves around my computer.tv.dvr.music.photos.etc all done on the same rig.

for starters i was thinking better video card
http://http://www.newegg.com/Product...82E16814130655

next i have a 24 monitor now...but want something bigger...not sure how big id need to see a noticable difference..i dont wana upgrade unless its worth it.i also was tossing around the idea of dual monitors but im not sure if that would distort the image too much(when im watching tv).also my apt is facing sunrise so for most of the day its pretty bright.i have a lcd right now and reading that if i got a led it should give me a better quailty picture during the day.this true?

now with that video card im pretty set on it...but my mobo is not pci 2.0 so im afraid it might bottle neck it.if so what mobo should i get?

if my current mobo is fine is there a way to unlock bios?i ask because i currently have no overclock options(which isnt too suprising cuz its prebuilt) and i would like to overclock everything a little(just to learn how to do it)

right now im only running 6gb of ram (3x2) and maybe would add another 2gb stick just because



for power supply i was thinking along the lines of
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V v2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

just to give me a little cushion in case i want to add more things later

is there anything else im forgetting?more cooling maybe(i live in texas.and temps easyly reach over 100 during the summer)

ill probally wait til cmas time rolls around because newegg had killer deals on most eveything and tv/monitors get pretty cheap than too.

with out price of video card included budget 500 to 1000
__________________

mr.birdy is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

Okay, To update your gpu, youre gonna need to upgrade your power supply. /But not an 850... Its a great psu, but unless youre gonna dual card it, its well over kill.

550-650W is just fine.
PCI-e 2.0 is slightly useless to most of use, sol don't worry.
A 24" screen is plenty, remember they all usually run the same resolutiuon, so a bigger screen jusgt has bigger pixles, making it less nice.

Be warned though, a new card is going to heat up things, so it might be a wise move to think of a better airflow case.

I could build an entire system for $1000
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Okay, To update your gpu, youre gonna need to upgrade your power supply. /But not an 850... Its a great psu, but unless youre gonna dual card it, its well over kill.

550-650W is just fine.
PCI-e 2.0 is slightly useless to most of use, sol don't worry.
A 24" screen is plenty, remember they all usually run the same resolutiuon, so a bigger screen jusgt has bigger pixles, making it less nice.

Be warned though, a new card is going to heat up things, so it might be a wise move to think of a better airflow case.

I could build an entire system for $1000
lawlz..guess im glad i asked yall before i went and overpaid a grand on a new set up


so we coverd ps and monitor.lets say i keep my monitor...would there be a better suited video card for it(i was gona go with that was because i was planning towards new monitor.but in any case id like to be able to max out graphics without any troubles)

also what case should i get.just any?

how can i test what my temps are at now so i know what to work towards for the future

would this power supply work?better for me
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
mr.birdy is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

To be honest that card is overkill for your system. While it will outperform almost any other card, your cpu will be a bottleneck. You could spend less money on a 560Ti and probably get similar performance just because the cpu won't bottleneck it as bad.

I would spend my money on this
Newegg.com - EVGA 01G-P3-1561-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti FPB (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

one of these
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX

and this
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

Honestly.... Thats a beast of a card, especially going into the oem case.... I didnt look before, but eek. It won't fit I'm 90% sure.

Seriously, unless youre running top everything, youre going to be spending alot for minor gains.

A gtx560 is great gpu, and affordable. A 560, or 6950 is a great gpu, at good prices. To pick, I'd read reviews for how the cards ran your intended games. Then get the one thats best overf your gaming style.

Also with your bios being locked, you aren't going to be able to over clock, so you'll bottle neck a 580.... 560 at extreme things i think abit.

That psu, was, and supposively is still great. Corsair switch suppliers, but Corsair serfvice is fantastic.

Cases I don't usually advise straight up. My saying is I don't have to look at it, you do.

I have a top notch case, but honestly it slightly under performs copared to my last case... but still lve it for itsa features.

I'd look for great airflow... In the front, out the top.
Antec "/hundred" series are great coolers, so asre the hafs by Coolmaster.
My suggestion is to pick a few and post them up, and somreoe can pro/cons them for you.

Grrrrr **** Nija!
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

For a case, go with what looks good to you. Just make sure it has enough fans. I am using an Antec Illusion 300 that has two 120mm front fans, a 120mm rear fan, and a 140mm top exhaust fan. I added a 120mm side intake fan.

A 560 or 560 Ti would max out about any game out there. On the AMD/ATI side you could look at a 6870, 6950, or 6970.

That 650W PSU is a good one. Check out the comparable Antec and see if you could save a few bucks as the quality is equal.

Ninja'd as well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

alright.thanks for all the help guys.ill get on buying this stuff now.

when i switch processors am i gona have to do anything software wise to make it compatable?


also i just noticed the 6cores droped in price a bunch.would switching to that work too?
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX


with this case can i turn off the lights or are they always on
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX
mr.birdy is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 10:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

Thats a ittyh bitty case You pasted the wrong link.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 11:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

haha double posted the link.haha

this is the one i was looking at.the front is similar to my current one.i dont really touch the back ports so thats why i like it
Newegg.com - Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
mr.birdy is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 11:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: prebuilt upgrading help

Second link doesn't work for me. I believe this is the same one: Newegg.com - Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

EDIT:Strange that when I am in the Go Advanced section and scroll down and click on the link it works but not from the main page of the thread.
__________________

fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PREbuilt PC? 95BlackGA System Upgrades 4 04-20-2009 10:26 AM
Prebuilt Laptop jasonalwaysready Laptops and Notebooks 9 02-06-2009 03:42 PM
Anybody buy a new prebuilt computer already? Jayce System Upgrades 0 08-26-2006 11:29 PM
Buying a Prebuilt rig Bluesshuffle New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-08-2006 02:46 PM
OC a prebuilt computer c0mmun1st4lyf3 Overclocking and Modding 10 07-07-2005 02:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.