New HD won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2008, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default New HD won't boot

I've been trying to upgrade my hard drive in my main computer.

The first HD I tried made a clicking sound about once every three seconds, and I wasn't able to get past the "post" screen. My keyboard wasn't lit up (as if it was not receiving power)...

Whenever I switched back to the old HD, the computer worked fine.

I tried a few more things and ended up returning the drive for a new one

Now, with this HD, there's no clicking sound--but I had to put a bobby pin in the release hole of the DVD drive to get it to open to insert the Windows XP disk. Keyboard was still not lighting up, and the computer wasn't accepting commands. The Post screen just sat there "Boot from DVD/CD Drive"...

At one point of time I was able to manage to get past that screen. The computer then "checked the configuration of the hard ware" and displayed the error message: "inf file txtsetup.sif corrupt or missing status 32768"...I looked it up and this doesn't necessarily mean there's a problem with the disk, it may just mean it's not being read properly

I took the DVD drive out and I don't see any obvious corrosion or problems. Meh

What's happening? Is this a power issue? I live in an old building, and I blew the fuse to one of the outlets by plugging my computer into it...it's a kinda ghetto building

A little separate note: weird thing is, the DVD drive on my spare computer doesn't work either


Thanks guys. I feel like a freaking noob. I know too much about computers to sound this confused
__________________

Lowri is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: New HD won't boot

Post your specs, that might help. HDD is IDE or SATA? Single HDD or more? Any beep codes? You have access to external HDD casing, can test the drive out that way maybe....what about hooking it up to your other system to test it?
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: New HD won't boot

It's SATA

There's one HD

And I don't think it's a problem with the hard drive, considering that I've tried this with two different HDs.

I don't remember hearing any beeps

Thanks


Specs:
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DQ6 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

GeForce 7900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3

Thermaltake W0101RU 550W ATX 12V 2.0 Version SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80557E6400

Kingston ValueRAM 2GB ram

SONY 16X DVDĪR DVD Burner With 5X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE Model DRU120C

new HD: Western Digital Caviar SE WD5000AAJS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Lowri is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New HD won't boot

ok so are you plugging the new ide hdd on the same ide cable as your dvd drive? if you are then you should plug it in to another ide port.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: New HD won't boot

It's not IDE, it's SATA
Lowri is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New HD won't boot

ohh duh, sorry didnt see that. have you tried every sata port on your board?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: New HD won't boot

I used the same SATA port that works correctly with the old HD...but only that one
Lowri is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New HD won't boot

you should try a different one. also have you tried it in another pc. have you tried it with the old hdd in and booting off of that one?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default

I think I did try a different SATA port with the first HD I tried. I really don't think the problem is in the HD

Halp, please.
Lowri is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New HD won't boot

well first make sure that the bios recognizes the new hdd.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
Dell refuses to boot from CD Cunjo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-15-2008 02:42 PM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.