New HD? help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2007, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Default New HD? help!

I posted hear about a year ago, to help me get a good HD, and I got the recommended Seagate Barracuda. The thing crapped out on me and I have to pay 500 to get the data back. I don't blame it on you guys. Could I get some new recommendations? I want to get 2 500 GB drives this time, one for backup. Mybe it will be even smart to get 2 different kinds? making it less likely for both to **** up? idk? anyways, any recommendations for good quality, 500 GB HDs, would be great. Last time people were saying how good the seagates are, is it normal for them to mess up like that, or did i just get unlucky? thanks!
__________________

Devon8822 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 03:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New HD? help!

u got unlucky thats all..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default Re: New HD? help!

Seagate Barracuda is the one I'd recommend. It's the only brand of drives I'm using now (and in the last year or two). Every manufacturer can have a failure. I used to be a Maxtor fan until I had two different drives in two system go when the drives were about seven months and less than two months old. I've had more Fujitsus and Western Digitals fail than any others though. I've yet to loose a Seagate, but it's only a matter of time. I'd say you were just unlucky. Seagate has a five year warranty, so get that one replaced and get a second to go with it. If your motherboard is capable of doing RAID 1 mirroring, seriously consider it. That's how I am surviving HD failures without doing regular backups.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: New HD? help!

if you know what your doing with computers, and your mobo can do this, then get 2 drives and put them in raid 1.

raid 1 basically just is a complete back up of your first hdd. everything you do to drive 1, drive 2 will copy it. so if drive 1 crashes, drive 2 will kick in and then you can send back broken drive 1 for a new one and continue on in life like nothing bad ever happened.

Capricorn- totally didn't see you already said that, lol, but i thought i'd keep my post here to just magnify the smartness of doing a raid setup.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 12:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: New HD? help!

My vote goes for WD caviar... cheapest and haven't heard of one breaking to date.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: New HD? help!

thanks guys! Very helpful, I will look into that raid, very very good idea
Devon8822 is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 02:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: New HD? help!

Apparently I need a raid controller? Right? can i just do this with to drives or do I need a RAID controller?

If a raid controller is required, what should I get?
Devon8822 is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 03:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New HD? help!

some boards have built in RAID Controller built in.. whats your board? because it may already have one
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 03:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: New HD? help!

My motherboard is old and ******. My bro told me it doesn't have a raid controller built in, so I have to get one. Any advice on that? What raid controller should i get?
Devon8822 is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: New HD? help!

raid controller is built into the chipset, if you want it... buy a new motherboard
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.