A New Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2006, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default A New Computer

Hey guys,

Alright so christmass treated me well and I have around $1500 for a new PC.

I currently have a computer with a

Radeon 9800 pro
Asus P4P800 Se Mobo
1gig ddr ram
Dvd drive
Samsung Syncmaster 712n
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.00GHZ
and a normall power supply

I want to get a really nice pc, I play world of warcraft and perordered the expansion as well. I do a lot of webdesign so I run photoshop cs2, macromedia suite, and rendering programs.

What I was wondering is can someone help me pick out some hardware for a new computer as I do not know a lot about comp hardware other then the basics.

also a couple of questions

Can I use my old power supply or will i need a better one?
I run xp home should I upgrade?
Do fancy looking cases really help performance?
Will I need ddr2 ram? How much ram do you recomend?

Thanks for everything! Merry Xmass/ Honica (sorry if spelt wrong) / Happy holidays
__________________

Computernoober is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I recommend a better power supply IF your old one is under 450 watts.

I recommend staying with XP Home, it's good enough for you.

If you want DDR2 RAM (It's faster), you'll need a new motherboard. I recommend getting 2GB, anything more will be unstable.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for quick reply any specific hardware you would like to recommend i was thinking Intel Core2 duo seems to be pretty popular.
Computernoober is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I recommend upgrading, you get more for your money.

What processor do you currently have? Pentium 4, AMD Athlon?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Pentium 4 2.00GHZ sorry upgraded first post.
Computernoober is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I'm not even sure if your motherboard will support Core 2 Duo. It's probably around 3-4 years old at least.

You could upgrade to a better Pentium 4 chip, or as you said, get a new computer.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

you could build a nice computer for $1500 but you could upgrade the one you have right now for about $500 depending on what you are upgrading.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Norcent
you could build a nice computer for $1500 but you could upgrade the one you have right now for about $500 depending on what you are upgrading.

I don't know what he can do though. The computer isn't the newest, my friend's got a Pentium 4 2.4Ghz computer with similar specs from 2002.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Odds are it's a socket 478, not a 775. Even it it were a 775, I doubt the mobo could handle a Core2Duo.

If you want to keep your RAM, you can go with a Pentium D or an AMD socket 939. Both are older tech, but cheap.

You can go with a Core2Duo build, but all you'll be able to use would be your hard drive. You may be able to re-use Windows if it is an retail copy, other wise you'd have to replace it as well.

Either way, you will have to replace your power supply. And if your system is a pre-built (Dell, HP, Gateway, etc) you'll need to replace the case as well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Here's what I was thinking so I can get a fresh brand new PC.

Intel Core 2 duo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005

NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI for Intel 775:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009

NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133187

TOPOWER TOP-1000W Power Supply:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817342009

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB ddr2:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034


Now this is obviously going to cost me over $1500.
So thats basically what from what I can gather would be my dream PC. Can someone help me downgrade a few of those things to get closer towards my budget?

Thanks you guys are awsome .
__________________

Computernoober is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.