Need a PSU with sLi ready - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Need a PSU with sLi ready

I am upgrading my mobo to an sLi one with pci-Express. Its either going to be this eVGA mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188002

or this MSI board:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813130527R

and I'm going ot buy 1 6800XT to start out then get another later.
this is the card.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150152


Right now i have enough to get a mobo and a strong psu to run it. I notice that some PSU's don't have that sLi symbol next to them, but under newegg it says they are still sLi ready. Can someone recomend me a good PSU for cheap that will run my 2 6800XT's and my Athlon 64 3000+?


One more question. How does a PSU be sLi ready? Does it have two cords for pci-E? Because there is this good 600W CoolerMaster PSU on sale at my computer store for $39.99. This is it:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171008

Is it sLi compatible?

thanx
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

almost all psus nowadays are SLI ready, but i wouldnt suggest buying a cheap PSU, especially if ur gonna SLI, which i would again be against. the psu you should get is the Antec SmartPower, and the motherboard is also not a great choice, go with the DFI Lanparty UT Sli-D.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

If you want a true SLi compatilble, i would go check out nvidia's website. They have the whole list of SLI compatible PSU's.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Thanx pzero. I went to the nVidia website and they showed me everything i need to know. So for my system that I am going to use this PSU should be fine according to nVidia so Im going ot order it.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817189005
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.