My Rig + What Should I Upgrade? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2010, 07:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

I'm still confused on what will actually work.. I don't see anything like a C0, M0, E0, R0, etc in the product description.

That last one I listed was actually an 8300 which wasnt listed on teh supported thing.. only an 8200 is.

Can someone please give me like a good one for around $100-120? I would really appreciate it as I don't want to order one, then have it not work.. That would suck bad.
__________________

Tinsil is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 09:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

I found a Q3200 for $113:
Intel Corp. - products new home -
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 11:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
The IP35-E does support wolfdales and yorkfields however only the initial revisions (C0, M0, E0) are supported since abit wet out of business before the current revision (R0) of the low end chips was released.
first time hearing that.

always thought if it supports the architecture, board should support the cpu, no matter what revision.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-03-2010, 03:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
I found a Q3200 for $113:
Intel Corp. - products new home -
Unfortunately, it's a Q8200S, which is revision R0, and will not post with that motherboard. Which sucks, 'cause that's a **** good price for that processor.

Link to post of user who has the ABIT IP35-E, and tried the 8200S.

Abit IP35-E or Gigabyte P35 DS3P v1.0? - AnandTech Forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
first time hearing that.

always thought if it supports the architecture, board should support the cpu, no matter what revision.
I have always thought that too, looks like we were both wrong. Can anyone explain why motherboard can't necessarily support all revisions? Most likely a BIOS thing, right?
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 07-03-2010, 10:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
first time hearing that.

always thought if it supports the architecture, board should support the cpu, no matter what revision.
I always thought that too but looking at the support list the only Core 2's missing are ones that would have been R0's at launch so I assumed that the R0's weren't supported, which that anandtech thread seems to support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
I have always thought that too, looks like we were both wrong. Can anyone explain why motherboard can't necessarily support all revisions? Most likely a BIOS thing, right?
Yeah it's probably a BIOS issue.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-03-2010, 01:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

I'm going to cry..

Since I am the major tech noob here out of all of you again, can someone please post (lol) another $100-125 CPU that WILL work with my Mobo?

Appreciate all your responses greatly!!
Tinsil is offline  
Old 07-03-2010, 01:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Heres a new 8200 but ikts on ebay for 135 buy it now....
INTEL CORE 2 QUAD PROCESSOR Q8200 BX80580Q8200 - eBay (item 370373170197 end time Jul-28-10 14:32:26 PDT)

Just a thought.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-03-2010, 02:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Thanks but that's a bit too much.

I dont use my PC for too much high-end gaming.. Idk if I want to spend $140 on a processor.
Tinsil is offline  
Old 07-03-2010, 08:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

StarMicro Inc. - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 CPU OEM in Intel® Core™2 Duo processor
$95

C2D E7200
$86.95 (used)
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 06:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Due to recent good events.. my price ranged increased to $150-200!!!

How would I tell 100% if these will work.. There's still no C0, E0, R0, etc on Neweggs website. Could I live chat and just ask them or how's this work?

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80580Q8200

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80570E8400

Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E6700 Wolfdale 3.2GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80571E6700

^^

These are listed as compatible through that page. I need help on the revision version though.

Thank you all again!!!
__________________

Tinsil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade my semi-outdated gaming rig - proc, power supply and g-card remedy System Upgrades 27 02-05-2010 11:56 PM
can i install windows from a copied cd onto a licenced pc? raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-23-2009 03:08 PM
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.