My Computer stays frozen... need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default My Computer stays frozen... need help!

Hello to all,

The problem is when I turn on my computer it doesn't do anything, the monitor doesn't display anything and the computer just stays on doing nothing. Under the turn on switch there is a little red light that stays solid on. and my slave drive also has a light that stays on.

However, if I don't touch the computer for about 4 days and try to turn it on, it actually boots normally for about 10 seconds then it goes back into the stage noted above. I've tried changing the CD-Rom drive and the same thing happens.

There's a switch on the back of the computer that I have to turn off because if I don't, the computer actually turns on all by itself after I've turned it off. Of course in the same stage noted above.


I really could use some help here. I would really appreciate it, thank you all.
__________________

Crusader878 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

You could try another PSU and reset the cmos but I think that board is toast!
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default Re: My Computer stays frozen... need help!

Quote:
Originally posted by Crusader878
Hello to all,

The problem is when I turn on my computer it doesn't do anything, the monitor doesn't display anything and the computer just stays on doing nothing. Under the turn on switch there is a little red light that stays solid on. and my slave drive also has a light that stays on.

However, if I don't touch the computer for about 4 days and try to turn it on, it actually boots normally for about 10 seconds then it goes back into the stage noted above. I've tried changing the CD-Rom drive and the same thing happens.

There's a switch on the back of the computer that I have to turn off because if I don't, the computer actually turns on all by itself after I've turned it off. Of course in the same stage noted above.


I really could use some help here. I would really appreciate it, thank you all.
is this a new computer, and is it custom built, dell, hp...?
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

yes, could you provide specs?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

There is somesort of stop code specified by the bios.....

It sounds like the ram.....
If it was the power supply, then the system would not boot at all because it would of been overloaded.....

If it boots for ten seconds....then it sounds like the ram...you could try memtestx86...but it sound like the ram.....test the ram in that comp in another compatible comp....
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 04:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

specs would be good...
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 10:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

do you hear any beebs or anything?
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

"infiltrator7: do you hear any beebs or anything?"

--I don't hear anything.

"shdwsclan: There is somesort of stop code specified by the bios.....

It sounds like the ram.....
If it was the power supply, then the system would not boot at all because it would of been overloaded.....

If it boots for ten seconds....then it sounds like the ram...you could try memtestx86...but it sound like the ram.....test the ram in that comp in another compatible comp...."

--If it is the ram, then what should I do? I can't use the computer so I can't test it with memtestx86.

"infiltrator7: is this a new computer, and is it custom built, dell, hp...?"

--The computer is about two years old and it is custom built. The mother board is an Asus. Pentium 4.

"Tordenskjold: specs would be good... "

--What kind of specs exactly, I'm really not that good with specs and internal stuff.



(Thanks for all the replies)
Crusader878 is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Try this http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=104482
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Default

nice guide flashdude. I think that's definately worth a look for you crusader since I had problems that had very similar symptoms on a laptop. I thought it was the memory for the longest time, but it turned out to be the motherboard.
__________________

Animal4890 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.