Help with my new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default Help with my new pc

Hello, Im starting to build a new pc,and is my first time.

I need some advice on a CPU,motherboard, psu, and ram. Ive already decided to get the 7800GTX video card.

As for the CPU im looking for something that can is fast, good for gaming and can multi-task. I was looking at the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ or the AMD Athlon 64 4000+ but Im open for suggestions.

Id like a motherboard that will overclock well and is overall solid. RAM, Im looking for 2gigs dual channel. dont worry about the price, I just need some suggestions.

Thanks In advance
__________________

Snoopsta is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default Re: Help with my new pc

Quote:
Originally posted by Snoopsta
Hello, Im starting to build a new pc,and is my first time.

I need some advice on a CPU,motherboard, psu, and ram. Ive already decided to get the 7800GTX video card.

As for the CPU im looking for something that can is fast, good for gaming and can multi-task. I was looking at the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ or the AMD Athlon 64 4000+ but Im open for suggestions.

Id like a motherboard that will overclock well and is overall solid. RAM, Im looking for 2gigs dual channel. dont worry about the price, I just need some suggestions.

Thanks In advance
Socket 939 I assume?

Try this board "ABIT Fatal1ty AN8"

The dual core Athlon64 4400+ is a good choice, couldn't help you on the psu, CORsair RAM seems to be a good one nowadays.
__________________

rkf76 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

that one looks good.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540

I like the specs on this one but is it a good overclocker?
Snoopsta is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snoopsta
that one looks good.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540

I like the specs on this one but is it a good overclocker?
not too sure, I just did a google search to come up with my suggestion. I'm a noob too
rkf76 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

The DFI LANparty ultra SLI board is a better overclocker as far as I know.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_pro...YPE=LP&SITE=US

is this the one your talking about?? If so this would be perfect

just need some ram and Power supply to go with it now
Snoopsta is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yes, that's what I had in mind.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

There's your motherboard from a place you can actually purchase it from.

If you have the money, go for the 4400+ X2 processor. It has 2 x 1mb of L2 cache on the chip. It'll be faster...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

There's your motherboard from a place you can actually purchase it from.

If you have the money, go for the 4400+ X2 processor. It has 2 x 1mb of L2 cache on the chip. It'll be faster...

Ryan
yea Ive already decided to go with the 4400+ but that motherboard you just linked me to doesnt support X2

I was going to go with this one:

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_pro...YPE=LP&SITE=US
Snoopsta is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

The board he linked you to WILL support X2, it just won't support SLI (which you REALLY don't need).
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.