Dual core or single core? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2007, 11:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

yo u defenitely wanna go dual core i was using my gf's p4 3ghz 2gbram machine and sine i like to open a lot of tabs in internet explorer i thought it would be ok, but in reality the cpu was at 100% and it skyrocketed the temp to 65c. on mine i dont get that problem since im dual core.
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 12:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

Use dual core, programs run smoother, i need to replace soon
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 12:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

Lol, It can't be more obious. DUAL CORE
Antz. is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 02:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

Seriously there's no benefit in buying a single core except price, and unless you're looking for an absolute basic system for throwing in a corner as a file server or something, it's worth springing a few for a dual core.

And yeah Vista's designed to run on dual core's which I forgot about til someone mentioned it. XP supports em but isn't nearly as efficient as vista at using em.
__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 04:00 AM   #15 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

i run a single core athlon 3800+ on vista premium and thats fine, my friend runs a sempron 3000+ on vista premium and thats fine but its still worth spending the extra amount of cash to get a proecessor which will set you up for the future
Nick is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 07:10 AM   #16 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

Dual-core ofc, like having two single cores of 2,2Ghz (4,4Gz instead of 4Ghz). I actually prefer quad core.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 02:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

MartinJol, as others have said, there's no reason not to get a dual-core, except maybe price (but there are really low-priced AMD dual-cores out there).

As for the argument your friend has, there are the two main errors:

1) You can't compare processors based on Ghz alone. I can't stress this enough. A new 1.8Ghz CPU beats a 3.8Ghz Pentium 4. Why? Because new processors do more "per Hz" than old processors. They're more efficient.

2) While it is true that a game can only use one core at a time (at least at the moment, Valve is working to solve that), one modern core is usually more powerful than one old CPU. For general desktop usage, two cores is much better, because multiple apps can distribute over the cores.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 02:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

First off I would like to stress that a lot of games these days DOO take advantage of multiple cores. Oblivion which is over a year old say a 15-20% increase in performance from Dual-Core.

There is absolutely NO REASON to go for a dual-core today since dual cores can be had for 65 bucks retail. You will NOT find a single core thats better than that for cheaper retail...not going to happen.\

Also as said GHZ mean nothing when comparing different models of CPU's. A 1.86ghz C2D is around the power of a 3.3-3.4 Pentium 4 expect with more cache and more technology. Also It has 2 Cores running at 1.86ghz of power as well.

There is no reason at all to go single core as games will utilize dual-cores more and more from now on...Supreme Commander uses Quad-Cores a little bit.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 10:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
First off I would like to stress that a lot of games these days DOO take advantage of multiple cores. Oblivion which is over a year old say a 15-20% increase in performance from Dual-Core.
I wouldn't say "a lot"; "some", maybe. But it's definitely going to change in the near future. I think that within a year every game will have multicore support. Note that 15-20% isn't much; it should be more around 70-80% if the game makes proper use of both cores (3D rendering programs usually have performance gains near 100% when using a second core).

Valve's Source engine (Half-Life 2's engine) is being substantially rewritten to accomodate full multi-core integration. Knowing Valve's history, I think it's gonna be a small revolution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
There is absolutely NO REASON to go for a dual-core today since dual cores can be had for 65 bucks retail.
You mean there is absolutely no reason NOT to go for a dual-core, right?
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:00 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Dual core or single core?

This one is absolutely a no brainer. Dual Core all the way!!! IMO, single core is for my 10 yr old who likes to visit disneychannel.com, Play pacman. It's also for my grandmother who just wants to get on the net and check the weather and maybe email me. LOL, the guy who suggested single core needs to do his homework.
BTW, price isn't even the issue anymore. Dual cores are now under $100. x2 3600 is under $60 at newegg.com.

Good Luck
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual monitor on one VGA cable M2k4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 12:32 PM
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Intel's New Glory CPU: Core 2 Extreme Edition QX6800 veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-09-2007 04:38 PM
Vista & Dual Core CPU Problem Alvin.C Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-08-2007 07:45 AM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.