CPU thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default CPU thermal paste

I am expecting the parts for my new computer to come in tomorrow or Friday, and I have looked over the guide at Toms hardware about assembling the computer. There is 1 thing that I am worried about.

I am worried about the thermal paste for the CPU. How much do I put on? Where do I put it on? I dont want my new machine to fry!

this is my CPU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735
__________________

Seraph is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

u should sqeeze about the size of a rice and u smudge it underneath the the heat sink where it touches the CPU
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

My new way of doing it is, a cooked grain of rice amount on the top of the CPU and a tiny blob on the heatsink and wipe in until there is a very dull look to the heatsink and then apply.

The heatsink that comes with the CPU with have paste/pad already on. Find out how to put the heatsink on with out touching it with the CPU. Once you make contact you can not then lift it up, otherwise air will be in the paste.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
Default

this reminds me one time when i spilled a dab on my motherboard and killed it ;[ dont follow my samemistakes!
xynthetik is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

aside from what trifid and the others said, you should just follow the instructions on arctic silver's website (to the letter). if you have any problems with it just ask. but if you follow their guide you really can't go wrong. if you spill some on the motherboard then high purity alcohol (isopropyl, methylated spirits) on a tissue or lint free cloth should clean it up quite easily and because it is very volatile evaporate long before you power on your pc. as a side point it is also less conductive than average tap water, at least it is where i live.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 03:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xynthetik
this reminds me one time when i spilled a dab on my motherboard and killed it ;[ dont follow my samemistakes!
There acrually is a good point here, compounds like Arctic silver have enough silver in it to act as a conductor, so be sure that the compound winds up where it is wanted only.
dcc is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 06:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
There acrually is a good point here, compounds like Arctic silver have enough silver in it to act as a conductor, so be sure that the compound winds up where it is wanted only.
if you read the details arctic silver provide, they do admit it has it's flaws but they clearly state it is not electrically conductive. they do say it can be capacitive when bridging close proximity electrical conductors though
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default

ok the heatsink has preapplied thermal stuff that it says to use. I stick the thing on the cpu and slide one of the rail things onto one side. I CANT get the other side rail on. Im just too scared because it is so tight. I have already tried to get it on and Im just so worried that its gonna break before it fits on. help me
Seraph is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 03:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
if you read the details arctic silver provide, they do admit it has it's flaws but they clearly state it is not electrically conductive. they do say it can be capacitive when bridging close proximity electrical conductors though

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thermal_grease


Metal-based thermal grease contains metal particles (usually silver) and other conductive ingredients. Metal thermal grease has a better thermal conductivity (and is more expensive) than silicone-based grease. It is also more electrically conductive, however, which can cause problems if it contacts the pins of an IC.
dcc is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 03:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

however at no point does that state "arctic silver". it talks in general terms which can not be taken as fact. given the fact that it is a suspension of oils and silver particles and oil does not conduct electricity......................
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.