CPU... Heatsink... no termal paste?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2006, 12:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default CPU... Heatsink... no termal paste??

I got CPU and there was no thermal paste?
Is it normal? I mean the stock Heat Sink...

With Stock Heat Sink I dont need thermal paste?
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

yes u need Thermal paste
Artic silver 5 is like $5.99
Just look on newegg i think ur capable.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

It didnt come with a thermal pad or anything? If it came with one, go ahead and use it, if not go out and buy some thermal past like fr34ky said.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Are you saying there's no thermal paste or theres no stock heatsink?

Whatever it is just go buy something cause your going to fry your processor either way
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 07:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

Heatsinks don't ship with thermal paste, they ship with a thermal pad already on the bottom of the heatsink. Using thermal paste is optional but if you want to use it get some Arctic Silver 5 and follow the directions on the Arctic Silver website.
Frank Jaeger is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 08:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default

My amd came with a pad of thermal paste stuck right on the CPU out of the Retail Box
__________________
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5568/cky9qc.jpg
They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 08:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

if you have a rubber thermal pad underneath you dont need ot use thermal paste im pretty sure..
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 02:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

Oh ok.. thks.
Kdar is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

So did it have the thermal pad? Or did you have to buy some paste?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Some heatsinks ship with thermal paste i hope you know

Quote:
Heatsinks don't ship with thermal paste
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.